Review: Saga – Brian K. Vaughan, Fiona Staples

When two soldiers from opposite sides of a never-ending galactic war fall in love, they risk everything to bring a fragile new life into a dangerous old universe. 

From New York Times bestselling writer Brian K. Vaughan (Y: The Last Man, Ex Machina) and critically acclaimed artist Fiona Staples (Mystery Society, North 40), Saga is the sweeping tale of one young family fighting to find their place in the worlds. Fantasy and science fiction are wed like never before in this sexy, subversive drama for adults. 
My thoughts:
I am not good at reviewing a graphic novel…what should I say? Good artwork and a good story.
Two races at war, and two aliens fall in love and have a hybrid baby and then they run. There is a freaky sex world, a weird tree and a girl with her guts hanging out. That’s sci-for you.
I enjoyed it and I would like to know if they survive. It also makes me wonder if I should try that other Vaughan series.

Would I read more?
yes

Cover
Breastfeeding…cool

Collects Saga issues #1-6.
Paperback, 160 pages
Published October 23rd 2012 by Image Comics (first published October 10th 2012)
Saga, Volume 1
Graphic Novel, Sci.fi
Library

31 thoughts on “Review: Saga – Brian K. Vaughan, Fiona Staples

  1. Jenny says:

    I've only read 2 graphic novels and found them difficult to review as well. I really enjoyed them, I just had no idea what to say that would be useful to any other readers! Glad you would read more of this series!

  2. kimbacaffeinate says:

    Hmm, my son would say things like..the scenes were intense,the illustrations expressed their emotions, There were kick-ass battle scenes..etc. I will ask him if he knows about this series.

  3. Mishel says:

    I'm looking into getting into graphic novels but sometimes feel overwhelmed and lost as to where to start. I like how different this one sounds, and that's a pretty kick-ass cover! I think I'll look into this one. I've heard the other series by this author is rather good!

Leave a Reply

