Review: Hot Blooded – Amanda Carlson

It hasn’t been the best week for Jessica McClain. Her mate has been kidnapped by a Goddess hell-bent on revenge — but Jessica is playing for keeps. Because she’s the only female werewolf in town…it comes with its own set of rules…and powers.

Aided by two vamps, two loyal Pack members, and one very reluctant human, Jessica must rescue her man while coming to terms with what being a wolf really means.

All in a day’s work for a girl.

The second novel in the Jessica McClain series is a full on action adventure featuring one angry Goddess and plenty of monsters, demons, and a few newly risen beasties…
My thoughts.
It was good, just not as good as book 1. I think it was cos of the storyline. They spent it looking for Roarke most of the time and well…even if things happened, not so much happened. I guess I wanted another kind of scenery too.
But Jessica is still cool and kick-ass. Though I must say that with all these new powers she is in danger of going very Mary Sue. But I do wonder about the prophecy.
We did not see her mate a lot :/
Her brother and Danny are nice. I might even like Roy soon. Naomi was cool too.
The evil goddess was evil, just a bit cliche’. Get over it woman.
Conclusion:
Good is good, I just hope book 3 is back to being book 1 good. Cos that one was awesome.
Cover
Cool
Will I read more by this author?
yes, I need book 3

Paperback, 320 pages
Published April 23rd 2013 by Orbit
Jessica McClain #2
Urban fantasy
Own

36 thoughts on “Review: Hot Blooded – Amanda Carlson

  1. Jenny says:

    I've heard a lot about Roarke, so I'm bummed he's not in this second book as much, that seems to be a pretty standard second book plot point. Separate the main couple. I'm glad Jessica still kicks ass though!

  2. BookaholicCat says:

    I have the same problem with this book, it was a run non-stop, but at the same time not much happened. I liked third book a lot better than this one, maybe even more than first.

  3. Lauren Elizabeth says:

    I have this on my TBR and I'm excited to get to it. Bummer that it isn't as good as book one, but the fact that you're still looking forward to book three has me encouraged. 🙂 Great review!

Leave a Reply

