Review: Hope’s End – Brian McClellan

A Powder Mage short

Captain Verundish has two problems. On campaign with the Adran army and far from her homeland, she is helpless when the young daughter she left at home is threatened. To make matters worse, General Tamas has put her lover in command of a Hope’s Endβ€”the first charge through a breach straight into the teeth of enemy cannon and sorcery. To save the people she loves, Verundish will have to come up with a deadly solution…
My thoughts:
When it comes to short stories I never have much to say…cos they are short…very short. And this one was..16 page..ish.
The story takes place before Promise of Blood so read it before, read it after, it does not matter. Just read it.
The story was about Verundish who has some…drama in her life (since it’s short story I wont spoil it). She is in a tight spot. I liked her, honor and duty, loyal and sacrificing. 
The story is about the charge called Hope’s End. As the name says it will be deadly and without hope. What to do is the question?
I usually want more when it comes to short stories and not always in a good way. But here it actually worked as a short story. Sure I want more, but I was also happy with what I got. It was short and good and I enjoyed it.
Conclusion:
Short and nice πŸ™‚
Cover
Eh

ebook
Published September 23rd 2013 by Brian McClellan
Fantasy
Powder Mage 0
From the author

30 thoughts on “Review: Hope’s End – Brian McClellan

  1. Yvonne says:

    I really dislike writing reviews for short stories. I feel like my review is longer than the story itself. LOL You did a good job, although it doesn't sound like my kind of genre πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

