Review: The False Prince – Jennifer A.Nielsen

NARRATOR: Charlie McWade
FORMAT: 7 CDs, Unabridged

In a discontent kingdom, civil war is brewing. To unify the divided people, Conner, a nobleman of the court, devises a cunning plan to find an impersonator of the king’s long-lost son and install him as a puppet prince. Three orphans are recruited to compete for the role, including a defiant boy named Sage. Sage knows that Conner’s motives are more than questionable, yet his life balances on a sword’s point—he must be chosen to play the prince or he will certainly be killed. But Sage’s rivals have their own agendas as well.
My thoughts:
The worst thing with an audio book is that I have no idea how to spell anything at all 0_o And with fantasy it can be tricky, but never mind that.
I liked the male narrator, he did a good job. Though why all the poor people had to sound stupid I do not know. Maybe cos they are poor. Still all in all a good voice to listen to.
The story was good too. A noble man gathers a few orphans and will make one of them king. They learn how to act and there are a few plot twists in there too.
Conclusion:
With this being a YA book I also appreciated it not being too long 😉
Cover
Boring

Audio CD, Unabridged
Published April 1st 2012 by Scholastic Audio Books
The Ascendance Trilogy #1
Fantasy / YA
Own

28 thoughts on “Review: The False Prince – Jennifer A.Nielsen

  1. Heidi@Rainy Day Ramblings says:

    I have this on audiobook but havent' started it yet. I know what you mean about not knowing how to spell stuff, but then on the other hand, I know I would never pronounce it right either. It is that with Hearne's books which you must start right away!

  2. Darlene says:

    That is my only complaint with audiobooks. You have no idea how to spell anything. Lol. I'm also not fond of the fact that I can't mark passages. If I'm on my regular iPod I can buy its a pain. Oh well I still love to listen and then I can be busy with other things.

  3. Lauren Elizabeth says:

    I enjoyed this one too! Totally with you on not knowing how to spell the names. I actually looked in a hard copy when I was in the store cause I wanted to know what the country names looked like. 🙂

Leave a Reply

