Review: Malice – John Gwynne

The Banished Lands has a violent past where armies of men and giants clashed in battle. An uneasy peace reigns, but now giants stir once more, the very stones weep blood and there are sightings of gigantic worms. Those who can still read the signs see a prophecy realised: sorrow will darken the world, as angels and demons make it their battlefield. 

Young Corban watches enviously as boys become warriors and yearns to join them, determined that he will make his family proud. It is only when everything he knows is threatened that he discovers the true cost of becoming a man.

As the Kings look to their borders, and priests beg answers from the Gods, only a chosen few know that the fate of the world will be decided between two champions, the Black Sun and the Bright Star. And with their coming will be a war to end all wars.
My thoughts:
The book was not easy getting into to. I was bored at first, then the many POVs had me confused. They kept on coming and before I knew one character another one was thrown at me. I do not have a problem with many characters, I just need to know who they all are and what they do first. But somewhere along the lines the book grew interesting, I started to like and hate people. Sure it took a while and that is why it’s getting a 3 instead of a 4. Because in the end it was really good, the plot thickened and I wanted book 2. And there is no word out on book 2. I am dying here, I need to know certain things. It was so good! (edit, word on book 2 is spring 2014, yay).
Right, should I tell you about all the POVS? Eh, well some, there was Corban, the typical young boy who must find his fate (and I sure want to know too!). His sister who wants to fight. There is a prince thinking he will save all. A lawless man in the woods. A king’s nephew who is dealing with a troublesome cousin. A man rising in the ranks of his prince. Let’s see was that all? I can’t say too much because certain plots, oh they were good. I kept wondering, thinking I had it, and the twists that I guessed were juicy.
He sure spun a good web. I wish some of the characters will see the truth and the rest I hope will burn. Aye, just like one should feel in a good book.
Conclusion:
So a difficult beginning paved way to a great debut. I hope the next book comes out soon
Cover
Eh

Paperback, 628 pages
Published July 4th 2013 by Tor (first published December 6th 2012)
The Faithful and the Fallen #1
Fantasy
Own

34 thoughts on “Review: Malice – John Gwynne

  1. Yvonne says:

    Lately many of the books I've been reading start off slow and then I find myself getting into it. I'm used to books that grab me from the beginning.

  2. Elysium says:

    hmm I'm a bit worried about the slow start because I already have this. But good to hear it got better.I first noticed this when I saw the cover lol, I thought it was pretty 😀

  3. Jenny says:

    Hm. Not sure this is the book for me as I struggle when there are so many POVs to follow, but I'm glad after a rough start you really ended up getting into this one:)

Leave a Reply

