Help Needed

I remember this happening last year and this year it happened again. Not to mention that my blog did go down last fall too. What am I talking about? Blogger’s purge of blog.
So I started from scratch on wordpress and have been fixing things there. But I am still not sure and there is where you all come on. Should I move?
The thing that makes me unsure is the fact that I will lose everything I have worked for :/ But at the same time I do not wanna be in the position that my blog is just gone all suddenly. It would be hard enough to lose my gmail account
40 thoughts on “Help Needed

  1. Dottie Taylor says:

    I have a wordpress site too, it's more difficult to use and without a lot of the benefits of blogger, though right now blogger sucks. I too am thinking of moving to self-host and purchasing a domain name. There are lots of free website… and I believe I could import my entire blog. Lea!! I need your help once again. LOL I'll probably giving her a call.Dottie 🙂

  2. Chris says:

    What will you lose? Comments? Posts? Shouldn't you be able to import those?(It's been a long time – I switched from blogger to self-hosted WordPress in June of 2006.)I don't think WP is harder to use – like starting to use blogger or any new app, there's a learning curve to get going.

  3. Diana Leigh says:

    I like the cleaner look of WP blogs, and the comment system is better too. I've had some WP experience working at Novel Reflections, and it didn't take long to catch on to the new format.I haven't heard of WP (free) doing mass deletions of book blogs like Blogger, but I suppose it could happen. (I'd be willing to take the risk.)

  4. Blodeuedd says:

    It could happen yes, but like you have not heard of it. And I also heard that those deletions are done by a human and a human would look at my blog and get that it's not bad

  5. Blodeuedd says:

    This week blogger deleted a lot of blogs. They use a computer so they do not check what they actually delete. If you have reviewed a book that is a bit..mature, then your blog was gone. Or if you maybe just used a word here and there. They tend to do these mass purges and I hate always looking over my shoulder

  6. Mary (Bookfan) says:

    I switched from blogger to wp (free) a few years ago. The only things I lost were the comments. I was ok with that. Everything else has been great. I love wp. Yes, some things are easier on blogger but the trade-off has been worth it for me. Good luck. If you have specific wp issues try tweeting to @wordpressdotcom – not sure if they'll respond but its worth a try.

  7. Melliane says:

    I love wordpress, I love my new blog but I confess that I have many more problems now than with blogger. Vanessa is sometimes sad by the change but I'm happy anyway even if it's a lot of work some nights because many problems everywhere. But well maybe it's because it's my domain now

  8. Blodeuedd says:

    Thanks Mary 😀 Always good to have some help.I do think I will make the move…yes I will move. I just do not wanna wake up and see it gone one day

  9. kara-karina@Nocturnal Book Reviews says:

    They deleted my blog as well but I put it right back up. It took me 10 minutes max to restore it. thought it was a glitch. I didn't realise they were randomly deleting things… Like you I am worried with the instability of blogger, but at the same time it's really easy, and I don't want to pay a subscription fee for what I'm doing. I am torn. 😦

  10. Anachronist says:

    I am trying right now the freebie version of WordPress and I am not smitten. However, I would like to give it several days, play around with the shiny buttons, read a tutorial or two, then I'll decide whether to switch to a self-hosted site.

  11. Blodeuedd says:

    They did!? See everyone. I just do not want it to happen when I have something special on my blog. And some seemed to have trouble getting it back, I guess you were one of the lucky ones.I am gong with free WP. Sure it could happen there too, but I haven't seen it happen to anyone. And G just seems to be deleting blogs and services, soon there will be no reason to stay. So I made my mind up, I will move.

  12. Blodeuedd says:

    I am fine with free WP. Not many shiny things around, but I like the sleek look.And there is just so many reasons why my blogger blog could do down. They delete it, something happens with the google+ account I do not want, to gmail. I hate that if one things goes down EVERYthing goes down

  13. Karen says:

    I only know of two people who weren't happy with their WP move. For myself, I'm still afraid to make the move. I am planning on backing up my blog on WP though. Just in case.

  14. Blodeuedd says:

    My whole blog is already there so yay for that 🙂 The import went smooth, gotta love that. And sure the free version is not as fancy as all the easy blogspot things but I have to do it

  15. Anna says:

    If you need help redirecting people from this blog to the new one when you're ready to go there full time, just email me at diaryofaneccentric at hotmail dot com and I'll send you the code I used when I moved to WP. I've never once regretted making the switch, and I don't do the self-hosting.

  16. Teddyree says:

    Scary, scary, I'm such a chicken when it comes to new stuff. I've never had a problem with blogger apart from editing issues etc. Do they just randomly delete blogs? … how bloody rude! I've considered wordpress and self hosting but I love my blog design so will have to see what will transfer successfully. And PS wherever you go I will visit 😉

  17. Carole Rae says:

    This is a hard decision…I've been on the fence myself. I hate looking over my shoulder….but then again I don't want to move. I may just stay were I am for now. If I am deleted I'll just go somewhere else like WP and start fresh new. IDK.

  18. Darlene says:

    I moved to WP ages ago and I don't regret it. I do self-host my own blog although you don't have to. I'll follow you wherever you decide to go.

  19. Blodeuedd says:

    Yup, I mean yes some of those blogs are bad! Spam and pRon. But they do not check things, they let a computer handle it and so goes the good blogs too

  20. Bellas Shelf says:

    I love WP. I was on Blogger about 1 year and made the move to hosted WP & havent regretted it 1 second. It took me a few weeks to get used to everything but I love it. I think the deletes are more common with Blogger. Sadly. I think you should try the WP thing for awhile and play around and see what feels right to you. I think its a good idea you have a back up "just in case".

  21. Blodeuedd says:

    They seem to be very common with blogger :(I am gonna post there all my posts and play around a bit and just see. I was sure, then I was unsure again and now I just do not know

  22. Staci says:

    Well, all the comments have made me a bit concerned about my own blog so I did import mine to WP but I am not sure if I will switch or not because I really love the look of my blog and the ease of blogger. I've already found WP a bit harder to navigate.

  23. Aurian says:

    Thanks to Brianna, the Book Vixen, who has a very good explanation on her blog of how to, I have finally made a back up of my blog, and a copy on free WordPress, for just in case. If something happens to my blogger blog, I can switch to WordPress. It took not even 10 minutes to copy all my posts and the comments to there.

Leave a Reply

