Review: Meet met at the Cupake café – Jenny Colgan

Having grown up in an apartment above her Grandpa Joe’s little bakery, Issy Randal has always known how to make something sweet. She’s much better at baking than she is at filing, so when she’s laid off from her desk job, Issy decides to open up her own little caf . But she soon learns that her piece-of-cake plan will take all her courage and confectionary talent to avert disaster. Funny and sharp, Meet Me at the Cupcake Cafe is about how life might not always taste like what you expect, but there’s always room for dessert!

Meet Me at The Cupcake Café #1
Chic-lit
Paperback, 432 pages
Published July 2nd 2013 by Sourcebooks Landmark (first published January 1st 2011)
For review

My thoughts:
Cute and fun is the word. But then I do adore British chic-lit. It made me want to drink tea and well.. eat cupcakes. Oh the cupcakes and recipes in this book made me drool. I would love do try them but they would be nowhere near as good.
So it’s about Izzy who has a boring job and secretly dates the boss (who does not treat her right.) But the book is about a cupcake cafe so we know that she at one point will move on to better things and find her true calling. And I love that she went for it and the friends and more she found along the way.
There is a bit of romance (I will not say more). New friendships, bit of drama, and yes just about finding yourself. Sometimes you just have to start over and build a new life.
Conclusion:
A sweet book that will make you want cupcakes.
Cover
Cute I guess, but now wow
53 thoughts on “Review: Meet met at the Cupake café – Jenny Colgan

  1. Mari says:

    I need to read this! One of the first books I read in 2013 was by Colgan 🙂 I read 'Welcome To Rosie Hopkins' Sweetshop Of Dreams' and it was such a cosy and lovely read. Only one negative thing about the book, it made me crave for sweets 😉

Leave a Reply

