ARC review: Forsaken by the Others – Jess Haines

Have a one night stand with a vampire, and you can end up paying for it for eternity. P.I. Shiarra Waynest, an expert on the Others, knows that better than most. Yet here she is, waking up beside charismatic vamp Alec Royce with an aching head…and neck. Luckily, Shia has the perfect excuse for getting out of town–namely, a couple of irate East Coast werewolf packs who’d like to turn her into a chew toy.

On Royce’s suggestion, Shia temporarily relocates to Los Angeles. But something is rotten–literally–in the state of California, where local vampires are being attacked by zombies. Who could be powerful enough to control them–and reckless enough to target the immortal? Following the trail will lead Shia to a terrifying truth, and to an ancient enemy with a personal grudge…
My thoughts:
There we have it again, Jess Haines is eeeeeeeevil! Evil I say! Darkness! Here I was reading and running through the fields with flowers in my hair when BAM! A truly evil cliffhanger that made me sit up and say noooo! And also it made me use way too many exclamation points in this paragraph.
What more can I say after that evil ending. I can’t think now. I need the next book, I crave it. I mean an ending like that, oh man…I am being a horrible tease now. But she is very good at these kind of endings, you want more at once.
Ok the book (before the ending) was about a quick look at Shiarra and Royce. Kissing 😉 Aww Royce, still way too little Royce in this one. Cos Shiarra and Sarah goes to LA. Meets the vampire master of LA. Meets a werewolf and most important of all, zombies! Zombies are running amok and it’s up to Shiarra to figure out why.
Zombies, danger and Shiarra dealing with the after effects of book 4 and there are quite a few. I do wonder what will happen with her strange blood…
Conclusion:
So here I am, waiting for the next book. I can’t even imagine where the events in this one will take her. Recommended series. If you want urban fantasy then look here.
Cover
Cool

H&W Investigations #5
Urban fantasy
Mass Market Paperback, 352 pages
Expected publication: July 2nd 2013 by Zebra
For review

42 thoughts on “ARC review: Forsaken by the Others – Jess Haines

  1. Heidi@Rainy Day Ramblings says:

    How is this already on book five. I keep saying I am going to start it. Maybe I need to get the audiobooks. A bitch of a cliffhanger. Well time to tear the flowers out of your hair after that! Have a great weekend!

  2. Karen says:

    I have the first book and really need to read it soon. Everyone loves this installment and is going crazy over it but I guess I have to catch up first.

  3. Jess Haines says:

    *struts around flashing Evil Author badge* Hee! I can't say I'm sorry about the cliffhanger, but I'm very glad to hear you're looking forward to book 6. In discussions about the title and release date with my editor, so hopefully I'll have some news about that for you soon.Enjoy your weekend, and thanks so much for the review!<3,-J

  4. Blodeuedd says:

    Yes that evil author badge is so yours, wear it with evil pride ;DOhhh news news, I need news down here in the black hole you left me. Nah I am good, I am just super excited about book 6 cos it was such a cool evil cliffie. Darkness ahoy

  5. Jenny says:

    A truly evil cliffhanger? Uh oh. Sounds like this is a series I should start when all the books are out so I don't get an ulcer from the stress of waiting for the next one!

  6. samantha.1020 says:

    I NEED to get back to this series! I read the first book and really enjoyed it but haven't continued on from there. Sounds like I better get my butt in gear! Great review 🙂

Leave a Reply

