Review: Masques – Patricia Briggs

After an upbringing of proper behavior and oppressive expectations, Aralorn fled her noble birthright for a life of adventure as a mercenary spy. 

Her latest mission involves spying on the increasingly powerful sorcerer Geoffrey ae’Magi.  But in a war against an enemy armed with the powers of illusion, how do you know who the true enemy is-or where he will strike next?

My thoughts:

I meant to write a review yesterday, oh well.
I did like this one more than Briggs’ other old fantasy romance novels. But yes of course it could have been much better. It was also rushed and could have been dragged out to a thick trilogy. Sure there is a book 2, but this book ended with the bad guy beaten.
Aralorn was a cool kick-ass woman. Wolf was an enigma, and yes I wished the secret who he was would have been left longer. Now it was all, maybe, and aha. Ok that’s it then.
There is action, danger, a bad guy and a king to be helped. A nice little book, the first she wrote (even if she did edit a bit later on). But still it was nice and I want to see what happens next. But I did read the blurb and was all come on, told you so peeps.
Cover
Nice

Sianim #1
Light fantasy
Mass Market Paperback, 294 pages
Published September 28th 2010 by Ace (first published December 1st 1993)
Own

39 thoughts on “Review: Masques – Patricia Briggs

  1. Nise' says:

    I've been wanting to read the Mercy series for awhile now and know I will kick myself for waiting so long just like I am with Cat and Bones. But, the great thing is that I don't have to wait for each book as there are a few ready to be read.

  2. Lexi H says:

    I really enjoyed Masques. You can tell it is an early piece from Briggs, who has grown as a writer since. But the story line and characters found a home in my heart and I couldn't shake them. Maybe my imagination added a little to her story telling, but I still reread this one.

  3. Lexi H says:

    I agree, Better than Raven 2. I read this after reading the Mercy Thompson series, so it was fun to see how much she has grown. Have you read The Hob's Bargain?

  4. Carole Rae says:

    Sometimes, in my opinion, its better to make it a little rushed in some areas then to have it drag on…and on….and on…like some series I could mention. XD

Leave a Reply

