Review: Red-headed stepchild – Jaye Wells

In a world where being of mixed-blood is a major liability, Sabina Kane has the only profession fit for an outcast: assassin. But, her latest mission threatens the fragile peace between the vampire and mage races and Sabina must scramble to figure out which side she’s on. She’s never brought her work home with her—until now. 
This time, it’s personal.
My thoughts:
Oh no, I fell for another series. Great now I gotta catch up on my 100th series πŸ˜‰ Lol, no, it’s all good, I do love finding a new UF series and especially one already out cos now I do not have to wait ages for more. There are already more out.
Sabina was a kick-ass assassin, a halfblood vampire, second class citizen, even though her grandma is a hotshot. But then her gran was an ass. And the whole concept builds learning who to trust. And that is not easy.
In comes a cool side-kick, thumbs up for him. A stalking mage that sounded cute, a dark cult leader who makes, oh I am not gonna say. And a conspiracy to bring everything down.
It was a nice world too with vamps, demons, mages and fairies. And I so need to know more about Sabina, because things are hidden in the shadows and I am curious.
Conclusion:
A nice start to this UF series.
Cover
Ok

Sabina Kane #1
urban fantasy
Paperback, 325 pages
Published April 1st 2009 by Orbit
own

PS: I got the keys to our new home today πŸ˜€
41 thoughts on “Review: Red-headed stepchild – Jaye Wells

  1. Mel says:

    Yay! Glad you like this series – it has its ups and down but is great fun and only 5 books long so you don't have to wait too long for a resolution! πŸ™‚

  2. Mishel (P.S. I Love Books) says:

    This is a series I have yet to start myself. It's been on my to-do list though…and ohhh how I know what you mean about being on your 100th series. They are my weakness too B.I don't think I've even completed one yet…*thinking..thinking…* yeah, nope I haven't. I'm terrible.

  3. Aurian says:

    I did not like this one very much when I read it years ago, I thought Sabina spineless and just someone to be ordered around. Perhaps I need to read it again.

  4. Lexi H says:

    Have to watch out for those series…they grab you and don't let go! :)Nice review, to the point and enough given to make me want to pick it up.

Leave a Reply

