Review: The Prisoner of Heaven – Carlos Ruiz Zafon

Barcelona, 1957. It is Christmas, and Daniel Sempere and his wife, Bea, have much to celebrate. They have a beautiful new baby son named Julián, and their close friend Fermín Romero de Torres is about to be wed. But their joy is eclipsed when a mysterious stranger visits the Sempere bookshop and threatens to divulge a terrible secret that has been buried for two decades in the city’s dark past.

His appearance plunges Fermín and Daniel into a dangerous adventure that will take them back to the 1940s and the early days of Franco’s dictatorship. The terrifying events of that time launch them on a search for the truth that will put into peril everything they love, and will ultimately transform their lives.
My thoughts:
It was not as good as Shadow, but then how could any book we as good as shadow? That book was a masterpiece.
This book just gave me questions and I should read book 1 and 2 again. First when something was mentioned, then I remembered that book 2 was about this guy Fermin meets in prison. Ok so I have obviously forgotten most things. The book can still be read as a stand alone, it’s just that I know these people, and all the mysteries! It’s one big evil puzzle. There are always new things throw at you, here we hear things about Daniel’s mother Isabella, we meet David Martin again and most of all it’s Fermin’s story about the time he spent in prison. If I had the time I would re-read the books for sure. Because at the end, omg that evil ending, hints about more to come. So not cool. More things to come, which is good, and bad, cos that will take some time.
Conclusion:
The language was not as poetic, but in the end it was still a good haunting book filled with mysteries.
Cover
Ok

El cementerio de los libros olvidados #3
Fiction
Paperback, 288 pages
Published March 12th 2013 by Harper Perennial (first published January 1st 2011)
My own

50 thoughts on “Review: The Prisoner of Heaven – Carlos Ruiz Zafon

  1. Ryan says:

    This is the only one I've read, and through most of the book, I couldn't get hype behind the first two. I thought the book was okay, but didn't justify all the praise I had read about the first two books. Then I got to the end and I realized, I loved the book, and that I really need to read the first two.

  2. Staci says:

    I have the first book and the reason why I bought it was because of all the book bloggers saying how wonderful it was. I need to read it.

  3. Blodeuedd says:

    Haha, actually these books are insane in a way. The story being told takes place before book 1, but at the same time the normal story of the book is set after the rest. So you go crazy 😉

Leave a Reply

