Review: Grave Memory – Kalayna Price

As a Grave Witch, Alex solves murders by raising the dead—an ability that comes at a cost, and after her last few cases, that cost is compounding. But her magic isn’t the only thing causing havoc in her life. While she’s always been on friendly terms with Death himself, things have recently become a whole lot more close and personal. Then there’s her sometime partner, agent Falin Andrews, who is under the glamour of the Winter Queen. To top everything off, her best friend has been forever changed by her time spent captive in Faerie.

But the personal takes a backseat to the professional when a mysterious suicide occurs in Nekros City and Alex is hired to investigate. The shade she raises has no memory of the days leading up to his brutal ending, so despite the very public apparent suicide, this is murder. But what kind of magic can overcome the human will to survive? And why does the shade lack the memory of his death? Searching for the answer might mean Alex won’t have a life to remember at all…
My thoughts:
Just because I have a crush on Death this is how I am gonna start:
‘O, Death. O, Death.
Won’t you spare me over ’til another year?
Well, what is this that I can’t see
With ice cold hands takin’ hold of me
Well I am death, none can excel
I’ll open the door to heaven or hell’
-traditional
Yes he is one of those big crushes cos he is always just there, staring. While Falin is a stupid pretty boy Fae. I am team Death in this one.
Anyway, Alex has a new case. The ghosts are being all weird. So she is investigating. Trying to keep a check on Faerie, and spending some time with her friends. Oh and then there is the whole Falin and Death thing.
I do wonder what she will do about her Fae heritage, which court she will choose, will she find happiness? All questions I really want answers too. But the author is not making it easy for her. Not at all.
Conclusion:
As the next book is not out yet I will sit here waiting cos I want more.
Cover
Nice

Alex Craft #3
Urban Fantasy
Mass Market Paperback, 1st Edition, 373 pages
Published July 3rd 2012 by Roc
Own

44 thoughts on “Review: Grave Memory – Kalayna Price

  1. Karen says:

    I always love Death when he's a character in a series. I mean – how could you not?And Fae don't do much for me. They seem to be all illusion and trickery and I get tired of that after a while.

Leave a Reply

