Review: Dark Haven – Gail Z Martin

In Dark Haven, the effects of Jared the Usurperโ€™s reign of terror strike at the stability of the Winter Kingdoms. Undead forces align against Lord Jonmarc Vahanian of Dark Haven in a struggle for power between mortals and the vayash moru. Some among the vayash moru are unhappy that a mortal lord is returning to Dark Haven. 

Jonmarc must win the trust of Dark Havenโ€™s mortal residents while playing a dangerous game of politics with its vayash moru. As everyone keeps reminding him, the last four lords died young. Throughout the Winter Kingdoms, magic has become a dangerous and unpredictable force.
My thoughts:
It was good, but I just feels that it’s so light and simple, almost YA like. Sorry YA, I know you can be dark and all that. But, yes but there is a simplicity over this series. Even when someone is dying it’s just light. And I am not saying I need bloody and complicated fantasy. I just want it to feel a bit more …mature. iI feels too YA. 
Our young king and queen worry over the state of the land (is that what makes sound so YA, cos they are young? It hould not be like that). Dark Haven a new lord and some of the “vampires” are not happy. A idiotic lord is trying to sow doubt and cause war. We have conspiracies, war, battles and romantic feelings.
As the book has that simple feel it reads fast and I do want to know what happens next. I fear I will get very angry and hope everyone in the kingdom dies. People are always so stupid when they are scared.
Conclusion:
If you are looking for an easy epic series then this is for you.
Cover
I like it

Series: Chronicles of the Necromancer #3
Genre: Fantasy
Pages: 606
Published: 2009 by Solaris
Source own

39 thoughts on “Review: Dark Haven – Gail Z Martin

  1. Melliane says:

    hmm strange when we see the cover we don't think YA… but well it happends. I read once a YA book and I didn't understand why the author chose this genre because it wasn't one for me at all.

  2. Lauren Elizabeth says:

    I tend to read a lot of YA, so maybe this one would work for me ๐Ÿ™‚ I do like that cover, and it's very promising that it flew by for you at 600 + pages, and it's great you're invested enough to see what happens next. I'll have to check this one out! Great review!

Leave a Reply

