Review: A soldier’s duty – Jean Johnson

Ia is a precog, tormented by visions of the future where her home galaxy has been devastated. To prevent this vision from coming true, Ia enlists in the Terran United Planets military with a plan to become a soldier who will inspire generations for the next three hundred years-a soldier history will call Bloody Mary.
My thoughts:
I always have a hard time remembering what people are named in books. Of course I keep track of who is who, even if there are lots of characters. But as soon as the book ends names slip my mind. Well not this time, Ia is an easy name to remember 😉 That and the fact she was totally kick-ass.
Anyway, I did not end up liking the book as much as I wanted to. As always do not get me wrong. That does not mean the book is bad. No, it was well-written, thrilling and interesting. Will she save the universe? (even if I mostly want to travel forward in time to see if it all works out). 
The negative thing is that it was very very heavy on the tech and military jargon. Not something I find particularly interesting to read about. Also this one character was so hard to understand. 
Just like I tend to skip sex scenes in other books (none here though, nothing of that sort at all, no romance no sex), when it came to be too much military stuff I skimmed. It’s not that it was heavy, just boring for me.
But I do wonder what happens next. It’s quite the undertaking to write about someone trying to save the universe hundreds of years before things go bad. And I do wonder what will go wrong?
conclusion:
If you like sci-fi then yes give it a go, or if you like military books, action, suspense.

Cover
Kick-ass

Series: Theirs not to reason why #1
Genre: Sci.-fi
Pages: 432
Published: 2011 by Ace
Source: Own

Tomorrow there will be a review of book 2 and Rameau is taking care of that.

49 thoughts on “Review: A soldier’s duty – Jean Johnson

  1. Carole Rae says:

    I do like fantasy and I do like military type books, but I loath when they go into too much detail about techie stuff and whatnot. *sighs* Sounded so good though. Great and honest review B!

  2. Aurian says:

    I absolutely loved this book, even the second time I read it. Glad you enjoyed it enough Blodeuedd. I had no problems with the military stuff, I enjoyed it.

  3. Lauren Elizabeth says:

    This sounds like a good read, in spite of the overuse of jargon. I'm the same way, I totally skip over really heavy tech speak or jargon about military too! And I usually don't miss anything important either! 🙂 Love the charcter's name; Ia is definitely unique. Great review!

  4. Jenny says:

    I would probably struggle with all the tech terms and military jargon as well, and I don't like reading feeling like I need a glossary of terms. Aside from that though, this sounds like an interesting series with a really creative world!

  5. Darlene says:

    I completely lose interest when books get into to much politics or military. I'm the same with names. So many times I find myself going back and trying to find a persons name even though I just finished the book.

  6. BookaholicCat says:

    This book sounds interesting but I'm not sure, I don't like books too heavy on the tech and military jargon as you said this one is… Something to think about.

Leave a Reply

