Review: Alloy of Law – Brandon Sanderson

In the three hundred years since the events of the Mistborn trilogy, science and technology have marched on. Scadrial is now on the verge of modernity, with railroads, electric lighting, and even the first steel-framed skyscrapers racing for the clouds.

Yet even with these advances, the magics of Allomancy and Feruchemy continue to play a role in this reborn world. Out in the frontier lands known as the Roughs, they are crucial tools for those attempting to establish order and justice.

One is Waxillium Ladrian, a rare Twinborn who can Push on metals with his Allomancy and use Feruchemy to become lighter or heavier at will. After twenty years in the Roughs, Wax must now put away his guns and assume the duties incumbent upon the head of a noble houseβ€”until he learns the hard way that the mansions and elegant tree-lined streets of the city can be even more dangerous than the dusty plains of the Roughs.
My thoughts:
I do like Sanderson’s works, but please focus on one thing! He has a crazy amount of books going on. This one, that is a stand alone continuation of the Mistborn series will have a follow up in 2014. Or whenever. And will it be a real follow up? I do not know, but I hope so as things sure were left unfinished.
Still it was a good, if weird fantasy novel. As it takes place after the Mistborn apocalypse (or whatever we should call it). The world has turned to steam and guns. It’s a western world. And it certainly is nothing I have come across. I am sure some would talk about steaampunk too, but nah, would not say that it’s that. Just normal progress,
Into this returns Lawkeeper Wax to become Lord of his House. A pretty cool guy. A nice sidekick turns up too. Wax tries to be a good Lord, and he also tries to marry to get some money into the house. All while things and people are stolen in the city and he is soon on the case.
Conclusion:
So we are left with a western fantasy mystery. An easy read that I enjoyed. Still maybe to new for me. I like my fantasy old. I also wanted more and I do hope I get come closure.
Cover Cool

Series: Mistborn #4
Genre: Fantasy, mystery, “fantasy mystery western”
Pages: 392
Published: 2012 by TOR
Source. own

36 thoughts on “Review: Alloy of Law – Brandon Sanderson

  1. Bob Milne says:

    I quite liked the first Mistborn novel, but the rest of the trilogy fell flat for me. It's always a risk when you remove the main character from the picture, and this is one case where I found that gamble failed miserably.

  2. Darlene says:

    I'm not sure this is my thing but I do have to agree on the amount of books he has. I went and looked once because you like him and I couldn't make my through the different series to know what was what.

  3. Blodeuedd says:

    Lol true πŸ˜‰ But what makes this one different is that it's not a western. It's a fantasy book, with a western vibe. And 200 years ago it was just fantasy. I am sure in the future it will be sci.fi if he writes more

  4. Blodeuedd says:

    Oh yes!! It does drive me insane. Especially when I was waiting for WOT. And now I want another of his series. His 1000 pages per book series. But he seems to have a case of too many projects fever going one

Leave a Reply

