Review: Fever- Lauren DeStefano

Running away brings Rhine and Gabriel right into a trap, in the form of a twisted carnival whose ringmistress keeps watch over a menagerie of girls. Just as Rhine uncovers what plans await her, her fortune turns again. With Gabriel at her side, Rhine travels through an environment as grim as the one she left a year ago – surroundings that mirror her own feelings of fear and hopelessness.

The two are determined to get to Manhattan, to relative safety with Rhineโ€™s twin brother, Rowan. But the road there is long and perilous – and in a world where young women only live to age twenty and young men die at twenty-five, time is precious. Worse still, they canโ€™t seem to elude Rhineโ€™s father-in-law, Vaughn, who is determined to bring Rhine back to the mansion…by any means necessary.
My thoughts:
I can’t even snark that much as nothing happened in this book, and people were drugged much of it too. Hug disappointment.
But first, really..really?! She ends up in a brothel. But does she get sold to the next costumer. Oh no, of course not, instead she gets put on display. Now that is just bad business. If the girl is that damn pretty and special then sell her body. But we can’t have that happen to our heroine. So do not let her end up there then. It set the tone for the book and I did not like it. This is supposed to be a horrible future and she *big eye roll*. Lame.
The other problem with the book was that I did not care. Book was tough provoking, here I did not care either way. Women dying at 20,whatever. Women sold to slavery, yawn. Yes you can see my problem. The whole book suffered for it. Nothing happened, she talked with Gabriel (did I feel they were in love..no.) Scary evil father-in law, well ok he was good, cos he was actually evil. The only good thing is the mad scientist.
Conclusion:
And how is this series gonna end. Oh I am sure she is the cure for it all. Did this book made me want to read the next? No thanks. I mean, it was still ok, cos I finished it in no time. It was simple.
Cover
Nice

Series: The Chemical Garden #2
Genre: YA/dystopia
Pages: 341
Published: 2012 by Simon & Schuster
Source: Library

48 thoughts on “Review: Fever- Lauren DeStefano

  1. Melissa (Books and Things) says:

    I enjoyed the first one enough, but didn't like Gabriel. Looks like it doesn't fare better for me here as well. Even though you didn't like it, I'm curious about how she ended up in a brothel! Okay, my curiosity may not serve me well here… ๐Ÿ™‚ At least you warned me. ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. Blodeuedd says:

    Haha, yup oh look scary brothel, but it's ok, she keeps her virginity, just as she kept it through her marriage. That girl's virginity is not going anywhere

  3. Blodeuedd says:

    Truth be told I can tell you here. Cos they are there at page 1, they wandered in and that was in. I did not like it at all. It was like the brothel was 100 m from the house

  4. Kevin says:

    I'm happy she wasn't turned into a prostitute and all but sometimes when a book pulls back like that you just KNOW the heroine is never in any real danger and the mystery is gone.I was never interested int his series and I guess it was a good choice. Even the covers don't appeal to me.

  5. Bookworm1858 says:

    The ending was actually really good for me and it made me psyched for book 3 (like the last paragraph). Before that I was pretty meh. Sorry it didn't work for you. Better luck with your next book!

  6. Blodeuedd says:

    I am glad she wasn't hurt, but yes she will never be in any danger. Whatever she does I never fear, oh something will show up. It looses something like that.The cover is nice, but she looks weird

  7. Soma Rostam says:

    Well, I have not read this series, but it sounded intriguing. Though it looks like the author didn't develop the plot and the characters well enough GREAT review, thoughYour reader,Somahttp://insomnia-of-books.blogspot.com/

  8. The Readingista says:

    I have put off this series for a long while and am kind of glad that I did. After some of the hype died down, I have read some reviews that shared some of your opinions. Too bad. The premise sounds so good.

  9. Blodeuedd says:

    I did like book 1, even though it had faults. But then I was so caught up in how cool and creepy it was. a YA Handmaiden's tale.But with book 2 I could see past that and was disenchanted

Leave a Reply

