Reviews: Secret McQueen 0,5 and 2,5

They say it’s impossible to find a man in New York City. Secret McQueen needs to find two in one night. Of course, it ll mean pulling off the impossible find and kill a displaced rogue vampire without disrupting the first promising date she s had in ages. As a werewolf hybrid used to walking a fine line of survival in the vampire world, though, Secret eats impossible for breakfast.

Somewhere between hello and the first round of drinks, Secret makes her move. Her target, Hollywood s biggest star, shouldn t be hard to spot. Just look for swarms of fans. Except every time her vampire liaison, Holden, helps keep her mission on track, her date runs further off the rails.

Either Holden has a hidden agenda, or he knows more than he s letting on about her quarry. One way or another, Secret is determined to get her man, and meet Mr. Right. Or die trying.
My thoughts:
As you all are aware of now I do not like writing reviews for novellas. What to say? Not to mention that most make me want more, and not in a good way. Here I did want more too cos I love the books, and 47 pages is way too little Secret.
Anyway, blind date, off to kill a Hollywood star, Holden being Holden and some ass kicking 🙂
I am glad though that I read this one now first, cos prequel are almost never as good as the real thing.

It’s the most wonderful time of the year. The season for mistletoe, Christmas lights…and a killing spree. When Secret’s friend, Detective Mercedes Castilla, asks for help to solve a series of murders longer than a string of lights, Secret resigns herself to the fact her holidays will be anything but peaceful.

It seems someone is killing New Yorkers in an unusually gruesome way, and as the bodies pile up faster than presents under the tree, the police are no closer to finding the killer than Secret is to finding the perfect present for one of her boyfriends, Lucas.

Tracking down a monster in Manhattan the week before Christmas is almost as difficult as shopping for her ever-expanding collection of loved ones. When tragedy strikes close to home, Secret must do everything in her power to put an end to the horror in time for Santa to come down the chimney.

My thoughts:
A holiday novella where Secret gets to meet Des’ parents for the first time, scaaary! 😉

Some cute time between her and Des (love ya Des!). Some tension between her and Holden.

And of course the hunt for a really creepy serial killer who leaves bodyparts as a gift. Just your typical paranormal NY xmas.

Both Novellas from 2011 by Samhain Publishing
Source: Own

39 thoughts on “Reviews: Secret McQueen 0,5 and 2,5

  1. Jenny says:

    I haven't heard of this series at all! I usually don't mind novellas if they're part of a larger series, then I'm content with the shortness because I know there's more waiting for me out there:)

  2. samantha.1020 says:

    I'm pretty sure that I have at least one of this author's books loaded on my reader. I just need to find the time to read it because I've heard really good things about her. Glad you enjoyed these!!

Leave a Reply

