Review: Feed – Mira Grant

The year was 2014. We had cured cancer. We had beaten the common cold. But in doing so we created something new, something terrible that no one could stop. The infection spread, virus blocks taking over bodies and minds with one, unstoppable command: FEED. Now, twenty years after the Rising, bloggers Georgia and Shaun Mason are on the trail of the biggest story of their lives – the dark conspiracy behind the infected. The truth will get out, even if it kills them.
My thoughts:
I did want more, this is after all Seanan McGuire we are talking about, but then nothing compare to her October books. I love those.
The book was well written, it threw a few punches that made me sit up but for me, yeah, me and thrillers are not exactly a couple. And that is what it was. Lots of politics as they were covering a candidate running for office, political conspiracies and newstalk. Eh, not my cup of tea, and it made some parts of this book frankly a bit boring.
It was still a good book, a book I enjoyed and still finished in a day. But you know not a book that I need to buy book 2 of. I still want to read book 2 and see what happens, but not a buying urge. Here I go again complaining about a book that still was good, yes please do not get me wrong. The book was good! It was just dry at times.
I do not have much more to say. Cool characters, a bit of info dumping (but then we are dealing with zombies and I do want things explained so it was all good).
And I did not see that end coming…
Conclusion:
I just wanted more of…something.
Cover:
Meh

Series: Newsflesh trilogy #1
Genre: Post-Apocalyptic /political thriller /zombies
Pages: 571
Published: 2010 by Orbit
Source. Library

47 thoughts on “Review: Feed – Mira Grant

  1. Linda says:

    I liked it but it's so different than the Toby series that I have forget it's the same author. The second one was less dry IMO because you need all that background in the first.

  2. Heidi@Rainy Day Ramblings says:

    Huh? I thought you would be raving for this one. I have heard so many great things about this series and I promised to read it this year. I am hoping that I connect with it a bit better. I also really want to read her new series I forget the name…something about shopping….it came it last winter.

  3. Cherry Mischievous says:

    I've seen this book around for a long time. It was marketed extensively when it first came out. But I've avoided picking it up because it looked gory to me… politics is not my cup of tea either…

  4. samantha.1020 says:

    I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed this book even if it wasn't perfect for you. I actually loved this book and thought that the 2nd book was even better! I'm glad that you still thought it was good though πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

