Best of 2012

Here it is, my best of 2012 and I had a hard time picking books so I put them all in genres.


Best Magical Realism Fiction
The Girl who chased the Moon by Sarah Addison Allen
Sugar Queen by Sarah Addison Allen
The Man who Rained by Ali Shaw


Best Fiction
Saving CeeCee Honeycutt by Beth Hoffman



Best Fantasy
Feast of Souls by Celia Friedman
Heir of Novron by Micheal J Sullivan
The eye of the world by Robert Jordan = also best book of the year


Best Apocalyptic/Dystopia
The Age of Miracles by Karen Thompson Walker

Best Historical Fiction
The Emperor’s conspiracy by Michelle Diener
The Second Empress by Michelle Moran
The Heretic Queen by Michelle Moran


 Best War Fiction
Becoming Clementine by Jennifer Niven
The House at Tyneford by Natasha Solomons
The Golden Hour by Margaret Wurtele

Best Historical romance
My Fair Concubine by Jeannie Lin
Her ladyship’s companion by Evangeline Collins
The lady most likely by Julia Quinn


Best YA
False Covenant by Ari Marmell
Thief’s covenant by Ari Marmell


Best New Series discovered
Secret McQueen by Sierra Dean
October Daye by Seanan McGuire  (technically not, but as I did read 5 books by her in 2012 it goes here)


Best urban fantasy 
(this one was tought as I tried to keep it to 3 and I wanted to put more here)
Shadows before the Sun by Kelly Gay
Stalking the others by Jess Haines
Magic Slays by Ilona Andrews


Best Paranormal (historical or contemporary)
Enchanting the Lady by Kathryne Kennedy
Tempest Rising by Nicole Peeler
Stormwalker by Allyson James


Best Sci-fi
Alien Diplomacy by Gini Koch



Crush of the Year:
Tybalt from the October Daye series by Seanan McGuire

(that’s Midas as I do not have a Tybalt pic 😉
 Some Awesome Covers from books I have read in 2012

(If someone know any free software where you can make pretty collages please tell me cos stupid gimp drives me insane and leaves me with this)
Books read in 2012: Stats
230 books
1 audio
2 graphic novels
14 novellas
213 books
 2; 5 stars, both The Wheel of Time, as I do not give 5 these days
64; 4 star books
146; 3 star books
16, 2 star books
2, 1 star books

Longest book was Lord of Chaos with 1011 pages
My top shelves for the year were fantasy and urban fantasy

Here is to another great year! Cheers 😀

57 thoughts on “Best of 2012

Leave a Reply

