Review: Christmas Eve at Friday Harbor – Lisa Kleypas

ONE LITTLE GIRL NEEDS A FAMILY
One rain-slicked night, six-year-old Holly lost the only parent she knew, her beloved mother Victoria. And since that night, she has never again spoken a word.

ONE SINGLE MAN NEEDS A WIFE 
The last thing Mark Nolan needs is a six-year-old girl in his life. But he soon realizes that he will do everything he can to make her life whole again. His sister’s will gives him the instructions: There’s no other choice but you. Just start by loving her. The rest will follow.

SOMETIMES, IT TAKES A LITTLE MAGIC… 
Maggie Collins doesn’t dare believe in love again, after losing her husband of one year. But she does believe in the magic of imagination. As the owner of a toy shop, she lives what she loves. And when she meets Holly Nolan, she sees a little girl in desperate need of a little magic.

…TO MAKE DREAMS COME TRUE 
Three lonely people. Three lives at the crossroads. Three people who are about to discover that Christmas is the time of year when anything is possible, and when wishes have a way of finding the path home…
My thoughts:
This book is short, short, short and utterly lovely. Longer than a novella but still only 200 pages. It does work, because it’s a holiday story and things get to move fast then.
Mark is, well, quiet, I liked him. He takes good care of his niece. Sure he has some silly ideas, but he is good. Maggie , whom he meets is sweet, but has mourned her husband for 2 years. Things just click, and even if things do not happen then at once, there is just magic and love in the air. These two fit, and the would be excellent parents to Holly.’
It’s a fast friendship turned into a fast romance. It’s a cute book that I read in a day, in one sitting. It’s light and lovely.
Conclusion:
After having finished it I also wanted more about this family, his brother Sam who works too much, and Alex who is getting a divorce. Yes I want them to find love too. A nice holiday book.
Cover:
Eh, nice I guess

Series: Friday Harbor #1
Genre: Contemporary romance
Pages: 211
Published: 2010 by St Martin’s Press
Source: My own

As we celebrate xmas on the 24th here up in the north today is the day where I wish you all
MERRY CHRISTMAS! 


48 thoughts on “Review: Christmas Eve at Friday Harbor – Lisa Kleypas

  1. Mary (Bookfan) says:

    Merry Christmas, Linda! I read this when it was first published and thought it was too short but I liked it. I saw the movie version last week. It strayed a bit from the book but it was enjoyable.

  2. Jenny says:

    I really like Lisa Kleypas, I've only read her historical romances, but I adored them. I think I need to go back and read more off her backlist!

  3. Yvonne says:

    I have this on my Nook and I really, really wish I had a chance to read it before the holiday got away from me. Oh well, I might end up reading it in the middle of the summer yet. LOL

  4. Karen says:

    I saw the movie based on this book last week. (Christmas with Holly I think) I hear it's a little different so I would love to read the story too. I didn't realize that it was so short which is great for me.

  5. GABY says:

    I also celebrate Christmas the 24th! I hope you had a great day :)I've seen this book around, it's going for me wishlist for next Christmas probably.

Leave a Reply

