Review: Gunmetal Magic + Magic Gifts – Ilona Andrews

After being kicked out of the Order of the Knights of Merciful Aid, Andrea’s whole existence is in shambles. She tries to put herself back together by working for Cutting Edge, a small investigative firm owned by her best friend. When several shapeshifters working for Raphael Medrano–the male alpha of the Clan Bouda, and Andrea’s former lover–die unexpectedly at a dig site, Andrea is assigned to investigate. Now she must work with Raphael as her search for the killer leads into the secret underbelly of supernatural Atlanta. And dealing with her feelings for him might have to take a back seat to saving the world… 
My thoughts:
Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed it. It was just not as good as later Kate books. It was more like the earlier ones and therefore it gets a grade like those.
Andrea was kick-ass, she has always been kick-ass. She has a horrible past, she is also something not that liked, beastkin. Yup her dad was actually an animal first. But she is just so Andrea, she fights, she wants to belong and I like her.
Raphael, oh what to say about him. Sleek, sexy, the favorite of the pack. Some of the things he did here just made me go all awwww, alpha ๐Ÿ˜‰ and other thing made me grind me teeth. They have issues to work through. But it was always been a dance between them.
The plot is that Pack members have been killed and it’s up to her to find out who. I will say no more as it delivers a lot of different things into the mix.
Conclusion:
I liked it. It gave me what I wanted. And I am a sucker for the mate frenzy shifters go through, all the mine mine mine…But did I wish it was up to Kate standard? Of course.
Cover: Kick-ass

Series: Kate Daniels World #1, Kate Daniels #5,5
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 326
Published: July 2012 by Ace
Source: Own

A dinner date after a hard day at work sounds heavenly. Of course, when that date is between the Beast Lord and Kate Daniels, things donโ€™t go as planned. Before you know it, undead are running amok, heads are being chopped off, lawyers are deployed and used with extereme prejudice, and drunk vikings are calling people out.

This novella takes place around Andrea’s book and it’s about ..vikings, well that is one clue I can give. Andrews continues to come up with new things and as a novella this story worked well.

So my final word is that I liked it ๐Ÿ˜€ Kate and Curran was good, the ending leaves things open for Andrea’s book and I can’t wait.

Series: Kate Daniels #5,4
Pages: 100
Published: 2011

104 thoughts on “Review: Gunmetal Magic + Magic Gifts – Ilona Andrews

  1. Simcha says:

    I don't really like it when a series that I enjoy suddenly veers off to follow one of the side characters. So even though I liked Andrea I haven't really felt too enthusiastic about reading a book about her, and I'm not sure if a short story about Kate and Curran would make me feel that much better. So I'm still undecided about reading this book, but I'm glad to see that you enjoyed it.

  2. Simcha says:

    I don't really like it when a series that I enjoy suddenly veers off to follow one of the side characters. So even though I liked Andrea I haven't really felt too enthusiastic about reading a book about her, and I'm not sure if a short story about Kate and Curran would make me feel that much better. So I'm still undecided about reading this book, but I'm glad to see that you enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

