Review: Besieged – Rowena Cory Daniells

Besieged

Sorne, the estranged son of a King on the verge of madness, is being raised as a weapon to wield against the mystical Wyrds. Half a continent away, his father is planning to lay siege to the Celestial City, the home of the T En, whose wyrd blood the mundane population have come to despise. 

Within the City, Imoshen, the only mystic to be raised by men, is desperately trying to hold her people together. A generations long feud between the men of the Brotherhoods and the women of the sacred Sisterhoods is about to come to a head. With war without and war within, can an entire race survive the hatred of a nation? Rowena Cory Daniells, the creator of the bestselling Chronicles of King Rolen s Kin, brings you a stunning new fantasy epic, steeped in magic and forged in war.
My thoughts:
This story takes place over a few decades and then it ends when something big happens. Oh yes cliffhanger alert, but it was still a calm cliffie as things will happen. But there is no one hanging off that cliff just yet. Maybe in a minute though.
There are different POVs but the two big ones are Sorne. A half blood raised to be a spy and weapon. He wanted to prove he was something more than just tainted and I felt so sorry for him. Humans are stupid and would never see anything else.
Then there is Imoshen who is also raised to be something else as her people bicker between themselves. She was calm and cool. And not so set in her way as the rest of her kin.
Then we have the races. Mieren = true-men, that’s normal humans then. Idiotic, racists, I just loathed them. They hate the T’en because they have magic. But the thing is the T’en are not that different. Just a bit different looking and two humans can still get a halfblood kid. Even if the Wyrd had issues of their own they still tried to live alongside humans. While humans took the form of an angry mob with pitchforks and nooses. And I could not see a way out of this. How can the trilogy possible end?! I like the T’en. Please save the T’en. They are all the same, can’t they see that?!
Yes as you can see the book sure got a few emotions out of me, I sat there grinding my teeth hating The Mieren (humans, grrrr). And then are some evil characters that stand out too. Down with them!
Conclusion:
The world was fascinating, just like the people living in it. It was the beginning of a rich saga, and it was truly only the beginning. So much more to come. Things are sure about to happen and I must read book 2!
Cover:
Great, though she does look like the actress playing Daeny in GoT and I despise Daeny.

Series: The Outcast Chronicles #1
Genre: Fantasy
Pages: 672
Published: June 26th 2012 by Solaris
Source: review

86 thoughts on “Review: Besieged – Rowena Cory Daniells

  1. Blodeuedd says:

    Nope, i did not even watch s1 cos it was just sex and it bored me. I need more than incest, rape and boobs. I did read the 2st books and therefore my hate of the creepy child Daeny is

  2. Blodeuedd says:

    Nope, i did not even watch s1 cos it was just sex and it bored me. I need more than incest, rape and boobs. I did read the 2st books and therefore my hate of the creepy child Daeny is

  3. Cherry says:

    I haven't watched GoT so don't know Daeny, but the girl in the cover sure look snotty! And does anybody like snotty characters?? Anyway, I also do not like cliffies. Hates them with a passion!! So will wait until the finale book is published before picking this up… I am not a patient reader…

  4. Cherry says:

    I haven't watched GoT so don't know Daeny, but the girl in the cover sure look snotty! And does anybody like snotty characters?? Anyway, I also do not like cliffies. Hates them with a passion!! So will wait until the finale book is published before picking this up… I am not a patient reader…

  5. Blodeuedd says:

    They changed her in the tvshow, in the books she was creepy, ok two scenes. And peeps forget that she is 13 in the books.It was not a falling of a cliff cliffie. All is good, but that cliff is coming closer

  6. Blodeuedd says:

    They changed her in the tvshow, in the books she was creepy, ok two scenes. And peeps forget that she is 13 in the books.It was not a falling of a cliff cliffie. All is good, but that cliff is coming closer

Leave a Reply

