Review: The Second Empress – Michelle Moran

The Second Empress

Empress Josephine’s family has been called to Napoleon’s court for the terrible news that he intends to divorce his barren wife of thirteen years and take a younger bride, the Austrian Princess Marie-Louise. For Josephine’s daughter, Hortense, this means she is free to leave her husband, Napoleon’s brother, having given the Bonapartes three heirs. As she looks for love, she must support her mother through the terrible grief of Napoleon’s betrayal. For his new wife, it is a terrible duty she must take on in her father’s name. She has nothing in common with the strange, older man she has married and can find little in her life to enjoy. But an unlikely friendship with Hortense will bring her much comfort, especially as she must fight for her own happiness. For Napoleon’s sister, Pauline Bonaparte, it is yet another woman stealing her brother’s attention and affection. Having spent years attempting to control his power and his influence, she must fight harder and dirtier if she is to win…
My thoughts:
So far I have not read a Moran book that disappointed me, and I happy to say that one was just as good as the rest.
Through out the whole book there was this easy flow to it, I took it up and started reading and suddenly I found myself 1/3 through the book. So I did what any booklover would do, I finished it in one day. I really liked the flow, the book felt light by it.
The book itself spans over 6 years and has 3 POVS. Princess Marie-Louise who have to marry Napoleon. She is not happy but will do her duty. Then we have Napoleon’s sister Pauline who is a piece of work, but still, she has issues too. And last Pauline’s chamberlain Paul. They all give an insight and we get to see more than we would have since with just Marie-Louise around. 
I like how Moran presents everyone, even with their faults she makes me see that there might be something behind all of it. Well except Napoleon, that guy was just crazy. But every man needs a vision.
The book felt different from the ones before, maybe because of the lightness, it was not that long either. She wove in the historical facts without making them heavy or making them too many.
Conclusion:
I could go on and on. In the end, all I want to say is that I really enjoyed reading this book and that I recommend it to all. It’s the kind of historical fiction you just fall in love with.
Cover:
Nice

Genre: Historical Fiction
Pages: 358
Published; July 5th 2012
Publisher: Quercus
Source: For review

106 thoughts on “Review: The Second Empress – Michelle Moran

  1. Teddyree says:

    hahaha I just posted my review and said the same thing about Pauline … what a piece of work. Michelle Moran is at the top of my fave historical fiction author list, glad you loved it too!!

  2. Teddyree says:

    hahaha I just posted my review and said the same thing about Pauline … what a piece of work. Michelle Moran is at the top of my fave historical fiction author list, glad you loved it too!!

Leave a Reply

