Review: The Queen of Attolia – Megan Whalen Turner

The Queen of Attolia

When Eugenides, the Thief of Eddis, stole Hamiathes’s Gift, the Queen of Attolia lost more than a mythical relic. She lost face. Everyone knew that Eugenides had outwitted and escaped her. To restore her reputation and reassert her power, the Queen of Attolia will go to any length and accept any help that is offered, she will risk her country to execute the perfect revenge.

Eugenides can steal anything. And he taunts the Queen of Attolia, moving through her strongholds seemingly at will. So Attolia waits, secure in the knowledge that the Thief will slip, that he will haunt her palace one too many times. When Eugenides finds his small mountain country at war with Attolia, he must steal a man, he must steal a queen, he must steal peace. But his greatest triumph, and his greatest loss, comes in capturing something that the Queen of Attolia thought she had sacrificed long ago…
My thoughts:
At the moment I can’t remember why something bothered me in book 1..did something bother me * checking review* Aha it was not knowing how old Gen was, well that does still bother me but not as much. But closer do the second half it did bother me again, I honestly want to know if he is a boy or a man? 13 or 18? What is he?
Anyway, I think I liked the book more than the last because it’s something with the way she writes. A flow of words, a certain ease and way to it that makes it more than fiction. With the rich history, mythology and stories she tells.
I also learnt more about the state of affairs in the world and war is still coming. Not to mention the shocking beginning at the start of the book. She had me shaking my head in disbelief. The first half is darker but it gets lighter and it was heartbreaking.
Conclusion:
It made me wonder how book 3 will be and I hope to read it soon and see how Gen is doing and…hihi, no spoilers from me. But I am sure curious.
Cover:
Nice

Series: The Queen’s Thief #2
Genre: YA, fantasy
Pages: 362
Published: 2006 by Eos (2000)

124 thoughts on “Review: The Queen of Attolia – Megan Whalen Turner

  1. Cherry says:

    I have to to check if the third book is released and if that is the finale book. I like to read a series when the end book is already released because then I do not have to wait πŸ™‚

  2. Cherry says:

    I have to to check if the third book is released and if that is the finale book. I like to read a series when the end book is already released because then I do not have to wait πŸ™‚

  3. Simcha says:

    I had heard great things about this series but for some reason I couldn't get into the first book. It's been a while so I can't remember why that was anymore,

  4. Simcha says:

    I had heard great things about this series but for some reason I couldn't get into the first book. It's been a while so I can't remember why that was anymore,

Leave a Reply

