Review: Hunting Ground – Patricia Briggs

Anna Latham didn’t know how complicated life could be until she became a werewolf. And until she was mated to Charles Cornick, the son — and enforcer — of Bran, the leader of the North American werewolves, she didn’t know how dangerous it could be either…

Anna and Charles have just been enlisted to attend a summit to present Bran’s controversial proposition: that the wolves should finally reveal themselves to humans. But the most feared Alpha in Europe is dead set against the plan — and it seems like someone else might be too. When Anna is attacked by vampires using pack magic, the kind of power only werewolves should be able to draw on, Charles and Anna must combine their talents to hunt down whoever is behind it all — or risk losing everything…
My thoughts:
Edit: Now this is the problem with actually posting the review here later, this review is one of those from last week when reviewing and I just did not seem to work. I think there is one or two more to come 😉

I am feeling the loss of my reviewing mojo at the moment, I just do not know..it feels like I have nothing to say. Like I have said it all before. Like the same old style just wont cut it anymore.

Characters:
Anna, I just do not know. I know she has been hurt, I know she is an omega. But even if she flashes her teeth she still feels like a little rabbit. She is so tame.

Charles, no I just can’t fall for him like I did with Bran *sighs* Bran, mmmm nom nom. Or like with Sam. Charles I do like, but I do not fancy him and I would not like to be his friend.

Love:
These two have issues, that I do like. How he tries to take it slow. As a couple I get them more. As a couple I like them.

Story:
The wolves are coming out and are having a summit. There were bad wolves, good wolves and the hunt to find killers. Throw in a few surprises, a few phone calls to Bran (damn it, I want more BRAN!) and you got quite an exciting story.

Final verdict:
The book was good and so short and easy. Just what I need as my reviewing mojo has decided to leave. Still I like it nowhere as much as the Mercy series.

Series: Alpha & Omega #2
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 286
Published: 2009 by Ace
Source; My own

82 thoughts on “Review: Hunting Ground – Patricia Briggs

  1. Anachronist says:

    I liked how their relationship was presented, I mean I am a big fan of Bran anyway but I admit Ms Briggs rules the PNR when it comes to the relationship and personal stuff.When my mojo is out I take a break from reading and reviewing. Works like wonder. 🙂

  2. Anachronist says:

    I liked how their relationship was presented, I mean I am a big fan of Bran anyway but I admit Ms Briggs rules the PNR when it comes to the relationship and personal stuff.When my mojo is out I take a break from reading and reviewing. Works like wonder. 🙂

  3. Blodeuedd says:

    I totally know what you are talking about. Sometimes I read a good book, gives it a 3, but at another time I read a book that should also be a 3 when thinking of it, but instead it gets a 2. Ok so here it did not get a 2, it got a 3. But I did keep comparing it to the Mercy books which I love and is 4s for me.It was good in the end. I just did not connect at much. But the writing and the world is excellent so that makes up for some things

  4. Blodeuedd says:

    I totally know what you are talking about. Sometimes I read a good book, gives it a 3, but at another time I read a book that should also be a 3 when thinking of it, but instead it gets a 2. Ok so here it did not get a 2, it got a 3. But I did keep comparing it to the Mercy books which I love and is 4s for me.It was good in the end. I just did not connect at much. But the writing and the world is excellent so that makes up for some things

  5. Blodeuedd says:

    I do feel better this week 🙂 I do not think it was the blogging itself, it was life in general. I was in such a bad mood all week long.But in the end, mercy rocks

  6. Blodeuedd says:

    I do feel better this week 🙂 I do not think it was the blogging itself, it was life in general. I was in such a bad mood all week long.But in the end, mercy rocks

  7. Blodeuedd says:

    Thanks 🙂 I guess we all just want to try something new now and then.The world is good, it's Briggs after all. But I just do not feel the couple

  8. Blodeuedd says:

    Thanks 🙂 I guess we all just want to try something new now and then.The world is good, it's Briggs after all. But I just do not feel the couple

  9. Blodeuedd says:

    My poor mojo. I always read for pleasure in the end, it's the only way. First afterwards I think about the book. I guess I just want to shake things up on my blog

  10. Blodeuedd says:

    My poor mojo. I always read for pleasure in the end, it's the only way. First afterwards I think about the book. I guess I just want to shake things up on my blog

  11. BookaholicCat says:

    I hope you review mojo comes back, maybe you need a break or something, sometimes we need to take a break from blogging to recharge our batteries. *hugs*Now to the review, I agree with you, I love Bran and prefer Mercy's books 😉

  12. BookaholicCat says:

    I hope you review mojo comes back, maybe you need a break or something, sometimes we need to take a break from blogging to recharge our batteries. *hugs*Now to the review, I agree with you, I love Bran and prefer Mercy's books 😉

  13. Cherry says:

    I agree with you, this book is okey but not as good as the Mercy Thompson books… I thought that it was just me reading too many Mercy Thompson books… now I see, there are at least two of us 🙂

  14. Cherry says:

    I agree with you, this book is okey but not as good as the Mercy Thompson books… I thought that it was just me reading too many Mercy Thompson books… now I see, there are at least two of us 🙂

Leave a Reply

