Review: The Spirit Thief – Rachel Aaron

Eli Monpress is talented. He’s charming. And he’s a thief.

But not just any thief. He’s the greatest thief of the age – and he’s also a wizard. And with the help of his partners – a swordsman with the most powerful magic sword in the world but no magical ability of his own, and a demonseed who can step through shadows and punch through walls – he’s going to put his plan into effect.

The first step is to increase the size of the bounty on his head, so he’ll need to steal some big things. But he’ll start small for now. He’ll just steal something that no one will miss – at least for a while. Like a king.
My thoughts:
Sure it was good and all and I liked it, but I am feeling negative today. It’s just one of those days. (edit: well it was one of those days last week or whenever I wrote this. It all goes together with those other reviews:)
I liked Eli, sure he was a bit too, dunno really, he was just a bit too much of something. Maybe it was the obsession with getting a big bounty on this head, now that just feels silly.
Josef I did not get, he was all I shall fight and not lean on my sword that has been given me (long story.) Nice though, their other partner, she has something. Must be the demon she is fighting inside of herself.
After them comes Miranda..*shrugs*. That was everything about her. Ok I am coming to the bottom of things now. I see. I liked the story, Eli is gonna steal a king, people want to catch him, something big is brewing and there is a cool system of magic. Everything, I mean everything has a spirit. But what the book was lacking was a well built world. A world can’t stand on magic alone and I did not feel the world around me. Neither do I know if I want to meet these characters again. They did not make a long lasting impact on me. They worked for a book, but more *shrugs again*.
Conclusion:
Still I enjoyed the ride cos it was light and easy to read. That makes a book more than ok for me. I never struggled with anything, I was swept along. But, yeah, there could have been more. Very light fantasy.
B’s cover snark:
Wipe that smug look off your face! Yes it just makes me want to slap him

Series: The Legend of Eli Monpress #1
Genre: Fantasy
Pages: 310
Published: 2010 by Orbit
Source; Bookshelf

92 thoughts on “Review: The Spirit Thief – Rachel Aaron

  1. naida says:

    As soon as I saw the cover I thought the same thing, he needs a slap for whatever he's done to make him smirk that way…lol.The book sounds ok, nothing great though. I do need good world building in these types of books. Thanks for the honest review.

  2. naida says:

    As soon as I saw the cover I thought the same thing, he needs a slap for whatever he's done to make him smirk that way…lol.The book sounds ok, nothing great though. I do need good world building in these types of books. Thanks for the honest review.

  3. Teddyree says:

    hahaha he does have a smug look on his face doesn't he, my hand would be itching to slap too.Might give this one a miss I think, I have too many on my wishlist that you've raved about that I'll go to first πŸ™‚

  4. Teddyree says:

    hahaha he does have a smug look on his face doesn't he, my hand would be itching to slap too.Might give this one a miss I think, I have too many on my wishlist that you've raved about that I'll go to first πŸ™‚

  5. Blodeuedd says:

    Then you understand me, the book and I did not connect. I read on cos. well there was still something, the magic was cool, I wanted to see what happened, but I still did not care

  6. Blodeuedd says:

    Then you understand me, the book and I did not connect. I read on cos. well there was still something, the magic was cool, I wanted to see what happened, but I still did not care

  7. Blodeuedd says:

    There you did better than I, read more..eh. And then I read reviews that the same theme happens in the next two books. So, already read about that

  8. Blodeuedd says:

    There you did better than I, read more..eh. And then I read reviews that the same theme happens in the next two books. So, already read about that

Leave a Reply

