Review: Magic Slays – Ilona Andrews

Plagued by a war between magic and technology, Atlanta has never been so deadly. Good thing Kate Daniels is on the job.

Kate Daniels may have quit the Order of Merciful Aid, but she’s still knee-deep in paranormal problems. Or she would be if she could get someone to hire her. Starting her own business has been more challenging than she thought it would be—now that the Order is disparaging her good name, and many potential clients are afraid of getting on the bad side of the Beast Lord, who just happens to be Kate’s mate.

So when Atlanta’s premier Master of the Dead calls to ask for help with a vampire on the loose, Kate leaps at the chance of some paying work. Turns out this is not an isolated incident, and Kate needs to get to the bottom of it—fast, or the city and everyone dear to her might pay the ultimate price . . 

Series: Kate Daniels #5, Genre: urban Fantasy, Pages: 308, Published: 2011 by ACE, Source: Own

My thoughts:
And again I face the same problem as before, how to review the 5th book in a series. I have said everything already.
Kate kicks ass, duh, no surprise there because she is cool and yet vulnerable too. I like her origin and I keep wondering about the big show-down when she meets daddy dearest. I like how she even fights with Curran, because they are not a couple who should sit and stare lovingly into each others eyes.
Curran then, well he is the beast lord and I do like his jealous side. He must go a bit weird sometimes and as I said before they fit so well together.
Great evil guys, I hated them so much. I wish I could have gone there myself to kick some ass.
The world is great, this I knew from the beginning. A world turned upside down when magic comes back and eats technology.
A great book 5 and I want more. Which means Andrea’s book and then one day the 6th Kate book. I can’t wait. What I also like is that there are no cliffies. Yes bad things will come, but that is one day and for now everything is good.
Conclusion:
Recommended!
Cover:
No no no, french manicure? Boobjob? NO
120 thoughts on “Review: Magic Slays – Ilona Andrews

  1. Darlene says:

    It is hard ti review books in a series because by the time you get this far in, really what can you say. You don't want to say what happens because then you spoil the other books. You can't win. Lol.

  2. Darlene says:

    It is hard ti review books in a series because by the time you get this far in, really what can you say. You don't want to say what happens because then you spoil the other books. You can't win. Lol.

  3. Alexis @ Reflections of a Bookaholic says:

    Lol at your comments about the cover. I find it most difficult to review books in a series if the reader has to read them in order to understand them. I feel like saying too much is giving something away but otherwise there is little to say without repeating the same things over and over.

  4. Alexis @ Reflections of a Bookaholic says:

    Lol at your comments about the cover. I find it most difficult to review books in a series if the reader has to read them in order to understand them. I feel like saying too much is giving something away but otherwise there is little to say without repeating the same things over and over.

Leave a Reply

