Review: Kindling the Moon – Jenn Bennett

Meet Arcadia Bell: bartender, renegade magician, fugitive from the law. . . . 

Being the spawn of two infamous occultists (and alleged murderers) isn’t easy, but freewheeling magician Arcadia “Cady” Bell knows how to make the best of a crummy situation. After hiding out for seven years, she’s carved an incognito niche for herself slinging drinks at the demon-friendly Tambuku Tiki Lounge.

But she receives an ultimatum when unexpected surveillance footage of her notorious parents surfaces: either prove their innocence or surrender herself. Unfortunately, the only witness to the crimes was an elusive Æthyric demon, and Cady has no idea how to find it. She teams up with Lon Butler, an enigmatic demonologist with a special talent for sexual spells and an arcane library of priceless stolen grimoires. Their research soon escalates into a storm of conflict involving missing police evidence, the decadent Hellfire Club, a ruthless bounty hunter, and a powerful occult society that operates way outside the law. If Cady can’t clear her family name soon, she’ll be forced to sacrifice her own life . . . and no amount of running will save her this time.


Series: Arcadia Bell #1, Genre: Urban fantasy, Pages: 358, Published: 2011 by Pocket, Source: My own

My thoughts:
I saw what people on my friend’s list on GR thought and there were 4 and 5s all around. I did like the book, but I just did not fall for it as much as I wanted. I think I was caught up in the hype again and felt a bit let down.
Arcadia was cool, she is a wizard, she owns a bar, her parents are serial killers..wait what? Yes they were framed and she is hiding. The world she lived on was cool. No one knows about magic except those working with it, the demons you can conjure up and Earthbounds. Now these I liked. Demons put in human form, they mated and tadaa, lots of offspring 400 years later.
The love interest that shows up is Lon Butler (one of those with demon genes, oh yes). They have a few issues at start but we all know they will end up falling. Even if he is 40, so old 😉
The book was good, I liked it. But I fear there is a ghost over this review, the ghost of wanting to like it more. And expectations that did not turn out are just the worst. 
Conclusion:
What saves it for me is in the end her past and future. There is something about her. And I am curious.
Cover: I would prefer to see her head
88 thoughts on “Review: Kindling the Moon – Jenn Bennett

Leave a Reply

