Review: Among Thieves – Douglas Hulick

Drothe has been a member of the Kin for years, rubbing elbows with thieves and murderers in the employ of a crime lord while smuggling relics on the side. But when an ancient book falls into his hands, Drothe finds himself in possession of a relic capable of bringing down emperors-a relic everyone in the underworld would kill to obtain.

Series: Tales of the Kin #1, Genre: Fantasy, Pages: 414, Published: 2011 by ROC, Source: My own

I am going to do a 3 reasons review cos my thoughts on this book are divided. The first 200 pages are a 2, the last 200 pages a 3. So I will only grade it for those good 200 pages.
1.) Reasons you chose this book
Honestly, it was fantasy and I wanted to read it.
2.) Reasons you liked or disliked this book
I disliked the book cos the first 200 pages were boring. I thought about giving up as I really did not care about anything happening. But at the same time I did not want to give up cos I truly hate giving up. But it was still sort of ok.
I liked the book cos of the second half of the book. There was excitement, chases, people trying to kill him, Drothe trying to figure out what the hell was going on. Big revelations about the Empire and me wondering what was hidden in the past. It got me interested, it made me like this book.
3.) Reasons you are recommending this book
Now I am torn again. I liked it and I thought it was ok. Which side should I listen to? It was not as the first part was bad, it was just not as interesting to me as the rest was. But I would still recommend it cos of the second half.
As for the grade, that is all cos of the second half as I liked that part and there was nothing wrong with it at all.
92 thoughts on “Review: Among Thieves – Douglas Hulick

  1. Jenny says:

    Hm. That's disappointing this one got off to such a slow start! The guy on the cover is all swarthy and sexy and I had hoped we'd jump right into things. Glad the second half was a bit better, but I'm not sure a 3 is worth 200 pages of a 2.

  2. Jenny says:

    Hm. That's disappointing this one got off to such a slow start! The guy on the cover is all swarthy and sexy and I had hoped we'd jump right into things. Glad the second half was a bit better, but I'm not sure a 3 is worth 200 pages of a 2.

  3. StephanieD says:

    I am amazed that you stuck with it, despite the fact that the first 200 pages were disappointing. I don't know if I would have had the stamina, to tell the truth.

  4. StephanieD says:

    I am amazed that you stuck with it, despite the fact that the first 200 pages were disappointing. I don't know if I would have had the stamina, to tell the truth.

  5. Aarti says:

    I think this book is on my wish list… the title sounds familiar. But don't think I want to struggle through 200 pages for a fairly "meh" experience!

  6. Aarti says:

    I think this book is on my wish list… the title sounds familiar. But don't think I want to struggle through 200 pages for a fairly "meh" experience!

Leave a Reply

