Review: If I Fall – Kate Noble

After a duke’s betrayal, the resilient Sarah Forrester reinvents herself as the Golden Lady: society’s leading light, the beautiful and witty life of the party. It’s all a façade of course-one that protects her from another intimate disloyalty. When her old friend, Lieutenant Jackson Fletcher, returns to London, he is determined to rediscover the true and trusting Sarah he once knew. It’ll take more than a kiss and a promise. It might even call for an innocent and necessary deception.

Then Jackson is enlisted to help capture the lead suspect in a murder— a man who happens to be Sarah’s most ardent suitor. Jack must continue the deception, and weathering this newest and gravest betrayal will be Sarah’s ultimate test. But as Jack’s passion for her grows, he must also reveal his own secrets. And as the killer turns his attention to his pursuers, more than love and trust is put at risk.

Series: The Blue Raven #4
Genre: Historical romance
Pages: 352
Published: April 2012 by Berkley
Source: Won



My thoughts:
This is the 4th book but yes it could also be read as a stand alone. The first 2 takes place a few years before book 3 and this one, and book 3, well in that one we see Jason fall in love and that is how this book starts. Jason leaves Sarah on their engagement party. If I had not read book 3 I am sure I would have been very unhappy with him, but he was in love, and Sarah, wanted stability only.
The Sarah that used to be is transformed after The Event into the darling of the Ton, cos else she is just The Girl who lost a Duke. She becomes more snobbish and knows how to cut someone. But she is not unlikable as you see that it’s only a facade she puts up to deal with all the whispers and of course she was sad too since she thought they would have been happy.
In comes Jackson Fletcher, an old friend who does not like the new Sarah. He wants the old Sarah back, I do like that they have history, and that he is not fooled by a pretty face. But for these two to actually fall in love takes time, a lot of time. I can’t say anything more, but they do avoid each other or argue a lot. But he falls, and she needs to let go.
And of course there is Blue Raven business going on (he is a spy), there is danger, a sinister plot and Sarah and Jackson is in the middle of it all. We also meet Marcus and Philippa (book 1) again as Philippa is the one who makes Sarah into the Golden lady. And it’s always fun to meet up with old couples.
Conclusion:
It was what I wanted it to be. I also found myself interested in reading a book about her sister, I think it could be fun.
Cover:
Lovely!
56 thoughts on “Review: If I Fall – Kate Noble

  1. Cherry says:

    I always like it when I meet old beloved characters again in subsequent books… I think that is one of the attractions in reading a series.

  2. Cherry says:

    I always like it when I meet old beloved characters again in subsequent books… I think that is one of the attractions in reading a series.

Leave a Reply

