Review: Raven’s Strike – Patricia Briggs

Series: Raven #2
Genre: Light fantasy/romantic
Pages: 381
Published: 2010 (2005)
Publisher: ACE
Source My own

The Traveler Seraph must use all her cunning and ability as a Raven mage to track down an unimaginable force of destruction known as the Shadowed. 
My thoughts:

I liked it, but at the same time I was really confused. It seems that some books I can pick up years afterward and just go with the flow. But this one suffered even though it had only gone a year since I read book 1. It was like I was trying to find my way to the dark, and the same thing happened throughout the entire book. So I would say that if you read book 1 then read book 2 fast, that could have saved it for me.

Still, I liked it cos it is Briggs. Sure it is not my kind of epic fantasy. It is very light, but sweet can be nice too. The world is not as built as it could be, she focused more on the orders and magic.

I guess there had to be something about it if I liked it even though I was lost a few times. The people were just so nice. I liked Jes, I liked that the Emperor was a new kind of man. Seraph seemed harsher though, and Teir softer.

Conclusion:
And of course I only read it cos it was by Briggs 😉 her earlier stuff is fun too.

Cover
I like it

40 thoughts on “Review: Raven’s Strike – Patricia Briggs

  1. Chris says:

    See, that's how I am with pretty much EVERY series – if it's more than a few weeks since I read the previous books, I have no idea what's going on.

  2. Mel says:

    WHen I read this duology, I kept thinking it was like an intro to fantasy – fun and easy read for those that don't usually read fantasy. But Briggs is always worth readinG! 🙂

  3. Mel says:

    I thought this was like an introduction to those who don't usually read fantasy! It's fun and easy to read – plus Briggs is always worth a read! 🙂

  4. Jenny says:

    I haven't read this series of hers, but I adore her Mercy Thompson books and the Alpha and Omega series, so I think I would probably enjoy these as well. I often get really confused when I pick up book 2 of a series months or a year after the first book, so you're not alone there!

  5. Blodeuedd says:

    It's very light, very much so. Sweet and not so built (the world). A good stepping stone, or just a book to stay with. Since it's good after all. i do like light

  6. Blodeuedd says:

    Walk way Ana, I fear it is too light and sure it is not romantic fantasy in away either, but damn, it i fluffy. If it was not Briggs I would not like it that much

  7. Blodeuedd says:

    I am glad to hear that 😀 So freaking confused. And it kept on going. Maybe cos book 1 felt like it was the end, and still there came a book 2

  8. Carole Rae says:

    I hate when I get confused while reading a sequel. Half the time it was my fault because I didn't know there was a previous book, buuut in some cases the author doesn't remind the reader of the key-points. Anyyyyways, great review. Short, but sweet.

  9. Julie says:

    I have always been curious about Patricia Briggs' fantasy stuff. Glad to hear it's not crap and thanks for the tip about reading the books close together. 🙂

  10. Cherry says:

    I read Raven's Shadow and Raven's Strike one right after the other and loved it! But that was donkey's years ago and couldn't really remember much anymore than that I loved it 🙂

  11. BookaholicCat says:

    I "knew" I have read this book couple of years ago (I have read everything by Patricia Briggs), but don't remember anything about it. I have to go to Goodreads to verified that indeed I have read it. Talking about awful memory. 😦

Leave a Reply

