Review: Love in Mid Air – Kim Wright

A chance encounter with a stranger on an airplane sends Elyse Bearden into an emotional tailspin. Suddenly Elyse is willing to risk everything: her safe but stale marriage, her seemingly perfect life in an affluent Southern suburb, and her position in the community. She finds herself cutting through all the instincts that say “no” and instead lets “yes” happen. As Elyse embarks on a risky affair, her longtime friend Kelly and the other women in their book club begin to question their own decisions about love, sex, marriage, and freedom. There are consequences for Elyse, her family, and her circle of close friends, all of whom have an investment in her life continuing as normal. But is normal what she really wants after all? In the end it will take an extraordinary leap of faith for Elyse to find–and follow–her own path to happiness. An intelligent, sexy, absorbing tale and an honest look at modern-day marriage, Love in Mid Air offers the experience of what it’s like to change the course of one’s own destiny when finding oneself caught in mid air.

Genre: Fiction, Pages: 320, Published: Feb 1, 2012, Publisher. Allen & Unwin, Source: For review

My thoughts:
I read this one slowly, it was just one of those books that had a way that you took your time with it. It also made me think about things.
Elyse is unhappy. She tries to talk to her husband, but he can’t see what’s wrong. Their marriage is in trouble and he is blind to it. Because what would the town say!? And so she has an affair. Now this is not something I usually like. but here it makes sense and it gives her power. It makes her happier and it makes her want to leave this crappy marriage. This also made me think as the author says that the best thing women do is staying. They stay, no matter what.
It’s a tale about trying to save a marriage, forbidden lust, finding yourself again and about friendship. What she would do without her friends I do not know. They are rocks in her life and she complain to them about her bad marriage, and to some, about the affair. The reader also gets to see the marriages of the friends, and not everything is rosy there either. But every woman is different and can handle different things.
It was a good book and it felt so real. She tried her best, she did the wrong things, but at the same time the right things. And she really did try. It’s a book with scenes from a life.
Conclusion:
I can’t say why it made me think about so many things, but it just did, love, life and everything else. It was a book where I wanted the heroine to find herself and therefore save herself.
Cover:
nice
35 thoughts on “Review: Love in Mid Air – Kim Wright

  1. Blodeuedd says:

    MaryI hope you enjoy it if and when you read it :DFeliciaWell it took me a lot longer than usual, 3 days, and that included a weekend where I did nothing ;)LindaThanks!MissieThey are the best, sure they can be the worst too, but they are still there

  2. naida says:

    Wow, this one sounds really good. I agree, I don't like infidelities in books, but it sounds like the author makes it work here.It's nice when a book can make the reader think about life. Great review πŸ™‚

  3. Staci says:

    I love it when a book makes you think something entirely different. You really got to see why she needed to save herself!! Sounds like a good read.

  4. Blodeuedd says:

    ChrisI do like that, and it just mentioned things, that are so normal, yet I have not come across it oftenJennyOh I am not saying that, but I can spoil it if you wannamelissaI am not sure about the whole snuggle up and read. Well, if you got many hours before you πŸ™‚ I do love fiction now and thenKimbaI am the same, but here it makes sense. And no one gets hurtMelGood to hear. I like books that surprises meAmusedSame here. I need normality now and then

  5. Blodeuedd says:

    CarrieSome I read fast, some I want to read fast and some I read slowly. I never know whyNaidaShe does make it work, and it is not cos I like the heroine and dislike the hero. It is just that they are both unhappy. One is just showing it moreBermudaTrue, she should have done something else, but then again if the affair gave ger courage then that was good

  6. Blodeuedd says:

    StaciIt was, I enjoyed it, even if it sure made me think of strange things, lolMysticaThanksYvonneI hope you get itAnaOhh, tempted πŸ˜‰ Perhaps cos I never mentioned romance ;)CaroleAye, it takes longer cos of that, but it i worth it

  7. Darlene says:

    I read this one a while ago and I really enjoyed it. It does make you sit back and really think about things. I think that's why I liked it too. I can say that the story is still in my mind after all this time.

Leave a Reply

