Review: Rude awakenings of a Jane Austen Addict – Laurie Viera Rigler

Genre: Contemporary romance/time-travel/JA
Pages: 304
Published: 2010
Publisher: Plume
Source: Borrowed
In Laurie Viera Rigler’s first novel, Confessions of a Jane Austen Addict, twenty­first-century Austen fan Courtney Stone found herself in Regency England occupying the body of one Jane Mansfield- with comic and romantic consequences. Now, in Rude Awakenings of a Jane Austen Addict, Jane Mansfield awakens in the urban madness of twenty-first-century L.A.-in Courtney’s body. With no knowledge of Courtney’s life, let alone her world-with its horseless carriages and shiny glass box in which tiny figures act out her favorite book, Pride and Prejudice-Jane is over her head. Especially when she falls for a handsome young gentleman. Can a girl from Regency England make sense of a world in which kissing and flirting and even the sexual act raise no matrimonial expectations?

My thoughts:

This was a cute book that I just breezed through. Honestly I just opened it and then suddenly I had read it. I think I needed an easy book that was all sweet and fun.

And we all know I love Jane Austen. And in this one a woman called Jane Mansfield loves the author too. I do like a fellow Janeite. But the best part was of course that Jane is from 1813 and wakes up in another body in 2009. What is a fridge? A Computer? Why do women wear so little clothes? She must be ruined since she called of a wedding, and so forth. I liked the funny things how this poor woman tries to cope with our century because it sure is a different century.

And there is romance on the horizon, perhaps….

Jane finds herself. Still I did feel a bit sad because she gave up everything, just as Courtney did (the person she is now). Did they not miss their homes and family? And how about the person who seems to like Courtney? Because Jane is not Courtney. Anyway even with those questions I still liked it, and I sure would like to read the first book where Courtney from 2009 wakes up in 1813. Now that would be fun to read about.

Conclusion:
The verdict then; it is cute and easy.

Cover:
Fits

33 thoughts on “Review: Rude awakenings of a Jane Austen Addict – Laurie Viera Rigler

  1. Audra says:

    Sadly, I just couldn't stand the first book in this series (so to speak) — the character was so aggravatingly vapid! I'm still tempted by this one though…

  2. Carole Rae says:

    I have the first one on my shelf. I'm not allowing myself to read it until I read 'Northanger Abbey'. That's the last completed Jane Austen book I need to read. haha. Great review!

  3. Blodeuedd says:

    AudraOh no! I was interested in that one cos it sounds so fun when she goes back in time, I do love thatLindaNice and light was truly neededIsalysLight and fun 🙂 I do not need utter perfection then

  4. Blodeuedd says:

    AnaHaha, yes no scary lady around ;)And I need light and fluffy. I loved the book before but it was 900 pages and took a lot out of meChrisIt was :DMissieFor me it was just nice to relax with this one and finish it in no time at all. After reading a long book it was neededNaidaI remembered that you got it from her, so sweet!

  5. Anna says:

    I have the first book and want to get my hands on this one so I can read them together. Glad to see you enjoyed it, and you've read another for the JA challenge!

  6. GABY says:

    I read the first novel and it was also cute and just fun. I also had the same problem about Courtney, not missing her real life, but I think I still would like yo read this one.

  7. Blodeuedd says:

    AmusedGlad to hear that :DGabySure they both had things and people they did not like…but still…MelissaLight is awesome ;)StephI am very curious about it, it sounds, fun. I'd love to go back too and meet my own Mr Darcy too. Aww the dresses!

  8. Blodeuedd says:

    StaciYou are all making me so curious about the first one!YvonneThen you def need to check this one out!AurianI agree, the guys are always moving around saving the ladies, or a woman gets thrown back into a medieval castle ;)CaroleI know! *hides in shame* I am horrid!!!I just like the movies so much

Leave a Reply

