Review: Vicious Circle – Linda Robertson

Series: Persephone Alcmedi #1
Genre: Urban fantasy
Pages: 384
Published: 2009
Publisher: Pocket
Source: My bookshelf

A girl’s got to do what a girl’s got to do….
Being a witch doesn’t pay the bills, but Persephone Alcmedi gets by between reading Tarot cards, writing her syndicated newspaper column, and kenneling werewolves in the basement when the moon is full — even if witches aren’t supposed to mingle with wolves. She really reaches the end of her leash, though, when her grandmother gets kicked out of the nursing home and Seph finds herself in the doghouse about some things she’s written. Then her werewolf friend Lorrie is murdered…and the high priestess of an important coven offers Seph big money to destroy the killer, a powerful vampire named Goliath Kline. Seph is a tough girl, but this time she bites off more than she can chew. She needs a little help from her friends — werewolf friends. One of those friends, Johnny, the motorcycle-riding lead singer for the techno-metal-Goth band Lycanthropia, has a crush on her. And while Seph has always been on edge around this 6’2″ leather-clad hunk, she’s starting to realize that although their attraction may be dangerous, nothing could be as lethal as the showdown that awaits them.
My thoughts:
Oh no, it happened again. An UF book that failed to grab my attention, I can’t seem to muster up my reviewing powers either. Instead I am pondering the sudden death of potatoes in my fridge. Well, they were old and had been there some time. Those poor things. I so planned to make them into a soup today. I did not just leave them there so I would not have to make fishsoup…or did I?
But ok the book then. I just do not know, it was the same old story. The heroine failed to make me care for her. Sure I liked her, but I did not care. I did not care for the hunky love interest either. The one thing that did make me care was when the wicked bad vampire showed up, oh he was fine and evil. I would have liked to see more of his dark seductive powers.
Therefore I can’t say what made me find this book just ok. The story was fine. Assassination, weres in the basement, a hunky guy who she should go for even if he is  bad boy. So it must be the people. A story can be wonderful but if I do not care, I do not like. A story can be bad, but if I still like the people, I like the book.
Conclusion:
Just not for me at this time-
Cover:
I do like the cover
44 thoughts on “Review: Vicious Circle – Linda Robertson

  1. Darlene says:

    Ha, pondering the sudden death of potatoes in your fridge. That cracked me up. It's awful when you can't think of a thing to say about a book. I had high hopes when I saw it was about witches. Hope your next read is better!

  2. paperbackdaydreamer.com says:

    Sometimes for me when I start reading a book and I'm feeling the way you were I set it aside and pick up something else. When I revisit the book I tend to LOVE it…that's what I did with Tempest Rising by Nicole Peeler. I had tried to read it before and just couldn't get into it so instead of trying to force myself to read it I wanted a couple of months and now I can't wait to continue on with the series. 😀 Hopefully your next book works with you!

  3. Jenny says:

    Never a good sign when you're pondering potato deaths in the middle of your review. Clearly this one just didn't cut it! Thanks for your thoughts:)

  4. Blodeuedd says:

    CherryIt is very catching, but sadly for me it did not work out wellLindaAye, it happens :/DarleneLol, I really felt like I had nothing to say, or what I said had been said before so…potatoes.

  5. Blodeuedd says:

    DeannaI really should have done that! I just hoped I would like it more if I continued. Cos there was this other book that I did put aside for later, sadly. I did not do it with this one.Cos in the end you never really knowYA QueenWell, the death of my potatoes were sadly more interesting today ;)JennyNot this time, but hopefully the next book will be better, or that I at least will enjoy it 😉

  6. Mel says:

    How long do potatoes last? I'm never sure how many times you can cut the roots before it's not good to eat! :-)Sorry, it didn't work for you. You're not having a good time with UF at the moment!

  7. Blodeuedd says:

    AmusedIt's sad, but yes it happensMelBf said that they were not bad, duh bf, I know about the roots. But he did not see the white and the icky black hole 😉 So I say, oh I do not know, lol. Things do not last long at our palce it seems

  8. Missie says:

    "Instead I am pondering the sudden death of potatoes in my fridge."Blahaha! Oh, you kill me Blodeuedd! Poor potatos. What did they ever do to you? LOL This is why I struggle with UF. The focus is always on the wrong thing. Why not the hot vampire? Maybe he will get this own series? Let's hope.

  9. Blodeuedd says:

    ChrisBut my fridge is so interesting! ;)MissieHihi, well they taunted me with their presence, death to potatoes!I definetely think the hottie vil vamp should get his own series. he was so evil and dark, and yummy!

  10. StephanieD says:

    That is very sad indeed that you'd rather ponder about the sudden death of potatoes that this book, which does sound exciting from the synopsis. Too bad whoever wrote the synopsis didn't write the whole book.

  11. Carole Rae says:

    egags! :0 I'm sorry this was a flop. You're like me…you have to care for the characters. The story-line might be flat, but if you care about the characters it makes it enjoyable.

  12. Mari says:

    Too bad this wasn't working for you 😦 I think I'm steering clear of this one as well if it will have me thinking of old things in my fridge LOL

  13. Ryan says:

    I keep thinking I want to give urban fantasy another try, but there is just so much of it out there, that I never know where to start. At least now, I know to not start with this.

Leave a Reply

