How the first review of 2012 did not become a review at all

I do fear that this new year did not start well at all, I was about to give up on Once Bitten, Twice Shy by Jennifer Rardin yesterday with I did not want to end with a DNF. But I was very close, so I kept on reading, which turned to skimming. And I skimmed the rest. 
For some reason this book did not work for me on any level. I did not connect to the characters, I did not like the characters, I did not care for the story. I honestly did not like anything at all about this book. I fear it turned out to be the biggest UF disappointment so far.
Anyway, I forgot all about my stats from 2011:
STATS for 2011
245 books read, 244 of those were fiction and one was non-fiction.
I also read 6 graphic novels/picture books
I listened to one audio picture book.
And I read 23 short stories. So a lot of those.
And together all that makes, oh something since I do not count short stories since some of them have been 9 pages short.
It was a great year, but I since was unemployed for the most of it I had to read, which I loved.
I also reviewed all those books, wohoo. Here, and also on Alternative-read.com, Book Lovers Inc, Ex Libris, Serendipity reviews
So thank you all for having me over 🙂

””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””

And for something more: Books I look forward to in 2012
(oh and I am so bad at putting pics together, sheesh, bad!) And there are also lots more, some sadly without covers so far. But these are some of the books that are a must have

29 thoughts on “How the first review of 2012 did not become a review at all

  1. Anachronist says:

    Sorry that you started the year with such an unpromising experience; let's hope that from now on it will be only better! BTW I am really curious what book can be an almost DNF for my lady…;pI am looking forward to Timeless as well!

  2. Christine says:

    Yikes! Sorry to see a DNF up on your blog on the first of the year!! Great 2011 stats! Wow! 244 books is amazing! I'm crunching my numbers too. Isn't it so much fun? Here's to a great year of reading in 2012! 🙂

  3. Karen says:

    I tried reading that book earlier in the year and didn't make it very far either. Oh well….Wow! I am so impressed by your 2011 reading. Happy New Year!

  4. Chris says:

    A pretty good reading year! Sorry it ended on such an unsatisfying note, though. :(I totally count short stories for my total. :DHappy New Year!

  5. Blodeuedd says:

    AnaTruth be told it was a DNF that I forced myself to finish 😉 If I say it like this, I would rather read the Chloe Neill book a bunch of times than read this one againAurianYay, I am not alone. it was so not for me. It was just so, meh.Have a great 2012 :)BermudaI am pretty proud of them, best stats so far.ChristineI know *cries* Not the way I wanted to start this year :(I do love my numbers and so many books read, where did I fit them all? LolCheers!KarenI do like hearing that I am not alone since everyone else loved it and I had to force myself to even skim it

  6. naida says:

    Oh boy, sorry it was dissapointing. They can't all be great though. Hopefully your next read will be a good one.Happy New Year Blod :)You did great for 2011! 244 books is incredible!

  7. Elysium says:

    You read lot last year! I fell so much behind when I moved and haven't been able to read that much after it.Sorry to hear your first book was DNF for this year 😦

  8. Blodeuedd says:

    Naida*fingers crossed* I am going for fiction, something everyone has loved so I hope I will too.I am proud :DElysiumIt sucks, sigh.I know, too many really, but I have had the time

  9. wdebo says:

    Whoa your stats are so impressive. 🙂 And that's sad that it was so disappointing hopefully the next book you read is more enjoyable!! ^^

  10. Sassy Brit says:

    Sorry to hear that, Blodeuedd! Such a shame when that happens. Here's hoping the rest of the year's books won't be so bad! 🙂 HAPPY NEW YEAR! Hope you had a wicked Christmas!!! And it's always a pleasure having you review over at alternative-read. Thank YOU! Hugs

  11. Melissa (My World...in words and pages) says:

    So sorry to hear this one didn't work for you. There are books like that. 🙂 Thanks for the thoughts on it and sharing it.As for your stats.. Holy Cow! You do amazing in the reading end. 🙂 And so much to look forward to. You are going to be thrilled with the Sullivan book. ;D I'm about 1/2 way with the last book, it's a tank, but it's very good. 🙂 hee hee. Happy New Year to you!

  12. Cherry says:

    That is sad to hear about Rardin since I already have several of her books in my TBR shelf… that could mean that they probably stay there for a whole lot longer 😦

  13. Blodeuedd says:

    WdeboAnd it was, I am glad I founda good book to read next cos it was so needed after this one.SassyHAPPY NEW YEAR!! :DAnd I am thrilled to be part of AR this coming year too. Thank youJenny G *fingers crossed*It was a great year indeed and I am very happy cos of itCaroleThank you 🙂 All thanks to good book that made me contiue reading them, cos those dnf makes me cranky.MelissaDive in and hopefully you will like it better cos for me, nothing worked, nothing at all 😦 Which was strange cos i should have like dit but then all books are differentMelissaOhhhhhhh! I am getting it…soonish. If it ships on Jan 26 then hopefully by Feb 1 it will be here. Fingers crossed for that cos I sure want to read it.DanaThanks, it already did :DCherryPeople do seem to like her books so who knwos, maybe you would to. I just can't say since it was not for me on any level

  14. Blodeuedd says:

    StaciI sure did :DMissieOh yes, I have been crazy reading this year. it has been funBookCatI do know how I manage 😉 I do not take notes, and I do not sit longer than 20 min. I just let it flow 🙂

  15. Jenny N. says:

    I'm sort of having the same problem since the book I'm reading right now is one I started at the end of December and still not even half way through it. WOW you read twice as many books as me so you must be a super fast reader. Hope its another good reading year for you!

  16. Teddyree says:

    I'll give that one a miss for sure!Your stats are incredible, what an awesome year you had, I need lessons in keeping up with reviews lolThe Second Empress & Pandemonium are two I'm hanging out for 🙂

  17. Blodeuedd says:

    JennyI really had to push myself to even skim this one, I knew that if I read it then it would take ages. So I gave in and skimmed, which is horrible and that is not even reading a book.I have always been 🙂 Oh and I got the time ;)teddyI am a bit crazy with posting all those reviews, lol.I can't wait for the next Moran book, it will surely be a good one as always.

  18. paperbackdaydreamer.com says:

    I'm sorry the first book of 2012 for you was so bad. 😦 Blah. However, maybe that just means the rest of 2012 will only bring amazing books your way…maybe…hopefully…I'll be praying that, that is the case!!

Leave a Reply

