2012 TBR Pile Challenge and War Through the Generation’s 2012 reading challenge

Hosted by Bookish

Challenge guidelines: 

This challenge will run from Jan 1, 2012 – Dec 31, 2012.
As we would like to see quality reviews linked up to our monthly wrap-ups, only bloggers can enter. Sorry about that!
Any genre, length or format of book counts, as long as it is a book that’s been sitting on your shelf for some time now. Only books released in 2011 and earlier! NO ARCs and 2012 fresh-off-the-press releases allowed!
You can list your books in advance or just put them in a wrap-up post. If you list them, feel free to change them as the mood takes you.
When you sign up in the linky, put the direct link to your post about joining the 2012 TBR PILE Reading Challenge (You need to include the info + host list + challenge button. You can also grab the button code and add it to your sidebar!)
You can move up levels, but no moving down.
Sign-ups will be open until Dec 15, 2012, so feel free to join at any time throughout the year.
At the end of each month one of the hosts will post a wrap-up. Every wrap-up will have it’s unique theme, a mini-challenge, a giveaway and place for you to link up your reviews from this month. For each review you link up, you will get one entry in a drawing of one book of choice from Book Depository. It’s open to INTERNATIONALS. For participating in the mini-challenge you will get +1 entry.
If you miss a wrap-up post + giveaway, you can link up your reviews next month. Do not, however, try to link up one review twice – we will be checking 😉
December is a wrap-up for the whole year. All the book reviews you linked up January-November + the ones you’ll link up in December will be entered into a HUGE giveaway – 12 books, 12 winners, INTERNATIONAL. 
You don’t have to follow all the hosts to join the challenge, but you do have to follow all of us to be entered in giveaways!
Levels:
1-10 – A Firm Handshake
11-20 – A Friendly Hug
21-30 – A Sweet Kiss
31-40 – Love At First Sight
41-50 – Married With Children
Hosts: 
Evie from Bookish – http://www.evie-bookish.blogspot.com @SeoEvie
Nicole from All I Ever Read – http://www.nicoleabouttown.com/ @Nicoleabouttown
Bonnie from Hands and Home – http://www.handsandhome.ca/ @HandsHomeBlog
Donna from Book Passion For Life – http://bookpassionforlife.blogspot.com/ @BookPforLife
Caitlin from WatchYA Reading – http://whatchyareading.net @caitlingss
Rie from Mission To Read – http://missiontoread.com/ @missiontoread
Vicky from Books, Biscuits & Tea http://booksbiscuitsandtea.blogspot.com/ @alouetteuette 
Christa from Hooked On Books – http://christashookedonbooks.blogspot.com @ChristasBooks
Jenna from Fans Of Fiction – http://fansoffiction.blogspot.com/ @fansoffiction
Angel from Mermaids Vision – http://mermaidvision.wordpress.com @mermaidvisions

Wrap-up POST Schedule:

January – Donna (Theme: Let It Snow + Book Cover Challenge)
February – Nicole (Theme: Un-requited Love/Love Gone Wrong + Advice Column Challenge)
March – Rie (Theme: Green or Pinched + Green Cover Challenge)
April –  Bonnie (Theme: Easter + Mini Challenge)
May – Christa (Theme: MayDay – Disaster Books! + Cover Disaster Challenge)
June – Jenna ( Theme: Camping + Sentence Challenge)
July – Rie (Theme: International Day + Cover Comparison Challenge)
August – Angel (Theme: Summer Memories + Send Your Fav Character On Vacation Challenge)
September – Nicole (Theme: Life Changing Books + Mini Challenge)
October – Caitlin (Theme: Thanksgiving Theme + Share-A-Book Challenge)
November – Vicky (Theme: Spooky Halloween + Book Puzzle Challenge)
December – Evie (Theme: Xmas Bliss + Book Bachelor Challenge)


I am starting with a friendly hug 11-20, I can always move up later 🙂 And I am gonna try to put a dent in my TBR pile. The books I will read, well we will see. I do got lots of 2011 books but I would sure like to go older too.
This next one I had to enter because I have been waiting for them to have one about WWI, and I have no idea what book (books) I should read, but I will hopefully find something great. Hosted By Anna and Serena

War Through the Generation’s 2012 reading challenge will be World War I. The challenge will run from January 1, 2012, through December 31, 2012.

Rules:
This year you have options when reading your fiction, nonfiction, graphic novels, etc. with the WWI as the primary or secondary theme.
Books can take place before, during, or after the war, so long as the conflicts that led to the war or the war itself are important to the story. Books from other challenges count so long as they meet the above criteria.

Dip: Read 1-3 books in any genre with WWI as a primary or secondary theme.
Wade: Read 4-10 books in any genre with WWI as a primary or secondary theme.
Swim: Read 11 or more books in any genre with WWI as a primary or secondary theme.
Additionally, we’ve decided that since there are so many great movies out there about WWI, you can substitute or add a movie or two to your list this year and have it count toward your totals.

You can decide which books you’d like to read right away, or you can choose them during the course of the challenge. Check out theRecommended Reading: WWI page for suggestions.
***Attention Participants***
We wanted to try something a little different this year, and we thought that it would be fun to do a group review here on War Through the Generations midway through the challenge.
The 2012 book for the read-a-long will be A Farewell to Arms by Ernest Hemingway.
How to sign up:
Leave a comment on this page with your reading goal. Please spread the word about the challenge on your blogs. Feel free to do a sign up post and leave a link to your post here.
Everyone who signs up will be listed on the WWI Reading Challenge Participants page.
Sign-ups will be ongoing.

More info. 

I will start with Dip, and I do think I will try to watch a movie too since it says I can 😉 And I got the best one for next xmas.

14 thoughts on “2012 TBR Pile Challenge and War Through the Generation’s 2012 reading challenge

  1. Carole Rae says:

    wooooow sounds like fun challenges! Mhmmm, I'm contemplating trying the war one…I would love to read more WWI books. I've only read a couple in my lifetime…the TBR one seems really complex. lol. Thanks for sharing these!

  2. Kaye says:

    It's so tempting to join that War through the generations challenge even though I promised myself just 2 challenges and that's it! Ha ha, what was that link again?Have fun with the challenges!

  3. Cherry says:

    The thing about challenges is, I so suck at them. If I don't enter it, I will most likely be married with children at the end of it. If I do, I'll probably never progress away from the handshake 🙂 I think I got some subconscious stubborness to refuse to conform…

  4. Felicia Sparks says:

    Thank you for the blog spotlight (I guess I still have the graphic linked to my old graphic—which is beyond fine LOL) :)I am working on getting books organized for the TBR challenge—that is my goal today 🙂

  5. Blodeuedd says:

    >Do join Kaye 😉 Come on! You know you wannaCherryLOL! I am like that but this year well I am gonna tryThanks Felicia, I just wondered if I did something wrong

  6. Christine says:

    Good luck with your 2012 reading challenges. I have a several chosen for 2012, too but haven't organized them yet. I've been considering the same TBR challenge but don't want the obligation of having to write reviews… I'm not very good at following through in that department. ha!

  7. Blodeuedd says:

    ChristineLol, I understand, you can always enter with those you do write reviews for 🙂 I do like writing reviews so I'll try it, and I so have to finish my own books

Leave a Reply

