Review: Unclaimed – Courtney Milan

Series: Turner #2
Genre: Historical romance
Pages: 425 (ebook)
Published: October 2011
Publisher: HQN books
Source: netgalley

Her only hope for survival…
Handsome, wealthy and respected, Sir Mark Turner is the most sought-after bachelor in all of London—and he’s known far and wide for his irreproachable character. But behind his virtuous reputation lies a passionate nature he keeps carefully in check…until he meets the beautiful Jessica Farleigh, the woman he’s waited for all his life.

Is to ruin the man she loves…

But Jessica is a courtesan, not the genteel lady Sir Mark believes. Desperate to be free of a life she despises, she seizes her chance when Mark’s enemies make her an offer she can’t refuse: seduce Mark and tarnish his good name, and a princely sum will be hers. Yet as she comes to know the man she’s sworn to destroy, Jessica will be forced to choose between the future she needs…and the love she knows is impossible.

My thoughts:
This is book 2, but do not worry I could easily read this book without having read the one where the hero’s brother found love first.

A hero who is a virgin, yes I do like that. So refreshing from all those rakes who are running around and surely have an STD or two by now. Instead I get a hero, Mark, who is a virgin, he has got a few issues, and at the moment he is sick of the praise put upon him. He may be a virgin, but he sure still is a man. 
The heroine on the other hand is a courtesan, so she has gotten around. And sure she has got her reasons, but to try to seduce poor Mark and ruin him, so not cool. But as we learn she does have her reasons, and I do understand those reasons and why she does feel like she does not have a choice. 
Thrown together it becomes a nice little tale, ok I should not call it nice. It’s a tale about lies, feelings, and a woman who feels broken inside. 
Of course I disliked Jessica at times, who could not, she would ruin and break his heart. But it was obvious she was falling so I had to like her. And their situation was also so hopeless. A courtesan and London’s most famous virgin? Not gonna happen! But of course we all know it will happen and I am was happy when it did. 

Conclusion:
It was a different sort of romance. You know there is trickery at the start, you want them to still be together, but Milan sure makes them work for it. And in the end everyone lives happily ever after.
‘Cover:
I like the yellow
32 thoughts on “Review: Unclaimed – Courtney Milan

  1. Jenny says:

    I'm really excited for this one, I haven't read too many virgin hero stories! I loved Mark in the first book, so I can't wait for his full story. So glad you enjoyed it:)

  2. Carole Rae says:

    That's unheard of! The man as the virgin and the woman the rouge who has went around the tree a few times? Sounds like a great read! I agree…I am loving the yellow.

  3. The_Book_Queen says:

    Great review–I haven't read Milan's books yet, but they are on my list. 😀 I always enjoy a good virgin hero story, probably because they are not shown very often. I think if they became as common as say virgin heroine, we would probably lose our interest in it a bit. 😀 Happy Holidays!Enjoy,TBQhttp://tbqspersonalbookpalace.blogspot.com (Note to everyone: Feel free to stop by to enter my Holiday Giveaway!)

  4. Blodeuedd says:

    MaryShe does it oh so well, i really like that it is different. And she does make the couple work for that HEAJEnnyCan't say I have either 😉 I have to read the first book too, and I do got the 3rdChrisOh you ;)AurianLol, those rakes are sure awesome, i give you that.CaroleYup, you heard me. She is worldly, he is not. But he wont let that stop him

  5. Blodeuedd says:

    JennyAnd different it is, I do liek Milan's style. She braves new things.AnaOh…I did not know 😉 Hihi, you liked historical romance. Aye I am amazed.Amused It is 🙂

  6. Blodeuedd says:

    ElysiumGive them a go 🙂 There are 3 out, 2 from HQN and the last one self published, oh and that awesome short oneStaciI do like that he did not fool around, awww, what a nice man

  7. Blodeuedd says:

    MissieLol, I am glad, I am here to serve Mam *tips off imaginary hat*Oh yes, the era of syphilis. NaidaUnlocked, awww, I loved that novella.StephHihi, right, so different, and it works. MelissaShe does not play nice for sureALexisI am glad they are since mostly it is the rake who has been around and a nice virginal heroine

Leave a Reply

