Review: Rosemary and Rue – Seanan McGuire

Series: October Daye #1
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 346
Published: 2009
Publisher: DAW
Source: Bought

October “Toby” Daye, a changeling who is half human and half fae, has been an outsider from birth. After getting burned by both sides of her heritage, Toby has denied the Faerie world, retreating to a “normal” life. Unfortunately for her, the Faerie world has other ideas… 

The murder of Countess Evening Winterrose pulls Toby back into the fae world. Unable to resist Evening’s dying curse, which binds her to investigate, Toby must resume her former position as knight errant and renew old alliances. As she steps back into fae society, dealing with a cast of characters not entirely good or evil, she realizes that more than her own life will be forfeited if she cannot find Evening’s killer.
My thoughts:

It was one of those books I couldn’t put it down books and suddenly I have yet another series to read.

It was my kind of UF, a rich setting, lots of fairy history and a heroine I liked from the start. And what a beginning, poor Toby. About Toby, I liked how she is getting caught up in the fairy world again, and these are fairies as they should be. Some nice (if you can call it that), and many nasty ones. Everyone wants something in this world. A favour for a favour. So yes I like this broken heroine. 
It was a nice mystery too about who killed the Countess and Toby has a lot of detective work to do if she will find the killer, before she is killed herself. Action, treachery, something is rotten in fairyland. 
I am not going to mention it now, but something broke me a bit and I hope Toby can sort that out. She has lost so much. 
A nice bunch of side characters too in this one. Devin, who I would not trust because of the way he used her when she was younger. But she has feelings since he saved her. Tybalt, oh I loved him, but then i really like cats and he is the king of cats shifters. Old friends, new friends, and the question of whom to trust. 
And of course me wondering who might be the romance interest *fingers crossed for my guy*. 
Conclusion:
Yes I want book 2, so this is another series I recommend. Dark Uf like it should be.
Cover:
Her face looks a bit weird
42 thoughts on “Review: Rosemary and Rue – Seanan McGuire

  1. Blodeuedd says:

    Kristinever went back! Oh no. I could not stop reading it, except when I had to go to bed, evil sleep ;)AurianIt is worth it :DMichelleOh the fish, the fish, dunno what to say about that sad sad partLindaI love Tybalt 😀 And wohoo I got book 3 😉 Now I just need book 2CaroleIt does feel good, and I hope it will continue to be good

  2. Jenny says:

    Toby sounds like a girl I'll feel very protective of, and now my mind is churning with all the possibilities for what broke you. Awesome review!

  3. Blodeuedd says:

    AmusedI love it 😀 I do want to know from page one if it is the book for meJennyI can't tell you, but it was sad :/ And..oh I can't say anything at all.I did love Toby

  4. Audra says:

    I have heard nothing but good things about this series — I read a short story by McGuire earlier this year and *loved* it. Thanks for reminding me of her!

  5. Blodeuedd says:

    MissieGlad? 😉 More like oh no! Together with one big YAY, lol, yes too many books, too little time.BuckyYou're welcome 🙂 I am glad I read it, I can't remember who it was who got me to buy it but that person "Thanks!"AnaIt is a pretty cool name, September is lame, August more so

  6. Mel says:

    This is another series I have the first two books but not read yet! I think I need a New Year's resolution to read some of these series…

  7. Simcha says:

    This is another one of those books that everyone except me loves. The first time I picked it up I had to stop after the intro because the whole thing about her daughter was too much for me. Then I tried it again later and this time I found it too annoying to read for too long. It just wasn't for me, I guess.

  8. Melissa (Books and Things) says:

    I have this book but haven't gotten to it yet. I picked it up because of the current book and it looked like you couldn't start in the middle. 😉 So, I'll start this one from the beginning. So glad you enjoyed it. I'm moving it up my tbr!!

  9. Blodeuedd says:

    ShellieI hope you will.Yeah, something is wrong and yup I can see a man in there. It just looks really wrong and strange.MelYes! You do that 😀 Cos they need to be read for sure. And I should give on that I should read the books on my shelves…. SimchaYou are not alone. They are many books that I have not understood at all why everyone love them. And some books just do not work. But hey I am so happy it worked for me. it as just my style.ChrisLol, I can't say I know that feeling

  10. Blodeuedd says:

    MelissaGood girl! Lol, yes you should not start in the middle with this series. You would miss the beginning and the beginning really makes the book.read it ;)StaciI know, bad me! But I have so many book 1s on my shelves and I made a promise to read them and it is not going good. I just want more.CarrieIt was great :DnaidaSo am I hihiStephI do like broken heroes, so yes I like broken heroines too. They are sad, and then they try something

Leave a Reply

