Review: Heart of Steel – Meljean Brook

Series: Iron Seas #2
Genre: Steampunk romance
Pages: 311
Published: Nov 2011
Publisher: Berkley
Source. Shelf

Growing up in the dangerous world of the Iron Seas, the mercenary captain of the airship Lady Corsair, Yasmeen, has learned to keep her heart hard as steel. Ruthless and cunning, her only loyalty is to her ship and her crew-until one man comes along and changes everything…Treasurehunter Archimedes Fox isn’t interested in the Lady Corsair-just the captain and the valuable da Vinci sketch she stole from him. When it attracts a dangerous amount of attention, Yasmeen and Archimedes journey to Horde-occupied Morocco- and straight into enemy hands.

My thoughts:
I liked it, I just did not like it as much as book 1. In that aspect I felt rather disappointed.
I still liked the steampunk angle, the zombies and the adventure. But this time I felt the romance was lacking, I actually never felt that Yasmeen and Archimedes liked each other. I felt no sexual tension, it was more that he said how much he wanted her but I did not feel it. What I did feel was her heart of steel and how she did not want or need a man in her life. That I got. And when she did fall, yes I am saying it again, I did not see it.
The book was still good, do not get me wrong. Steampunk rocks, Yasmeen was cool in her tough shell, Archimedes is a true adventurer and hey it has zombies. One has to like that.
Conclusion:
But in the end I just wish I had liked it as much as I liked book 1. I hope book 3 will be better because I’d like to read more.
Cover:
Eh, he looks, thin

—————-

My flash fiction for this week

30 thoughts on “Review: Heart of Steel – Meljean Brook

  1. Jenny says:

    Too bad because I ADORED the Iron Duke and loved all their sexual tension. I was hoping this one would be more of the same. I do love the steampunk aspect though:)

  2. Blodeuedd says:

    FeliciaSteampunk is, oh I have liked every steampunk book so far πŸ˜‰ It is just kick-ass. But yes it takes some getting used toJennyI just did not feel it at all here, no sexual tension what so ever :/

  3. Anachronist says:

    If in a book, which is clearly about a romantic steampunk lady, the romantic thread doesn't satisfy my Queen of Hotness then for sure something must be wrong…thanks for a lovely review!

  4. Blodeuedd says:

    AnaYou are quite right, I fear the romance part was severely lacking and not up to hotness standard MissieYou were certainly not alone, it was just not there and it made me sad

  5. The_Book_Queen says:

    I've got this one on my list already, but I'm hoping to get a copy of book one to read first. I hate reading books out of order, though I do it all the time when I'm too impatient to wait for the others. πŸ™‚ Enjoy!TBQ

  6. Blodeuedd says:

    AmusedIt is the worst feeling :/ Especially if book 1 rockedTBQOh you MUST read book 1 first cos then you get the world and as i think, the better book.CarolWell…the zombies are not really around much

  7. Jenny Girl says:

    I hate it when sequels are a let down. Hope book 3 lives up to expectations. I did a Flash Fiction too, but didn't have time to type it up. When I finish it I'll let you know.

  8. Jenny N. says:

    I really do need to read more steampunk since the few steampunk books I've read I ended up really liking. Also I'm suprised to hear that the sexual tension just fizzled out in this book.

  9. Blodeuedd says:

    Jenny GirlYay, i will wait for it then πŸ™‚ I am so glad that you joined in.And yes I know, so sad, and I get so disappointed,ChrisI hear youMelissaWell….it was pretty awesome πŸ˜‰ Still there lack of connection would have bothered me even if book 1 had just been ok.

  10. Blodeuedd says:

    JennyI do not know what happened there, I would think they would have had the tension going out of control but it was just meh. *shrugs*SQTSteampunk does rock, sadly it was very lacking in any kind of tension.StaciDo read book 1 πŸ˜€ And yes you must try steampunkAurianIf you did not like the first then no, I can't really recommened this one now can I. Well there are always other books

  11. Simcha says:

    I started this book last week but I gave up on it after a few chapters because it didn't really do anything for me. I couldn't connect with Yasmeen and I thought it was ridiculous the casual way Archimedes's sister responded to news of his death. I figured that if that was the way the rest of the story was going to go then I probably wouldn't enjoy it, which was pretty disappointing because I loved The Iron Duke.

Leave a Reply

