Review: Theft of Swords – Michael J.Sullivan

Series: The Riyria Revelations #1 (1 and 2)
Genre: Fantasy
Pages: 704
Published: Nov 2011 
Publisher: Orbit
Source: Shelf

Royce Melborn, a skilled thief, and his mercenary partner, Hadrian Blackwater, make a profitable living carrying out dangerous assignments for conspiring nobles—until they are hired to pilfer a famed sword. What appears to be just a simple job finds them framed for the murder of the king and trapped in a conspiracy that uncovers a plot far greater than the mere overthrow of a tiny kingdom. 

Can a self-serving thief and an idealistic swordsman survive long enough to unravel the first part of an ancient mystery that has toppled kings and destroyed empires in order to keep a secret too terrible for the world to know? And so begins the first tale of treachery and adventure, sword fighting and magic, myth and legend. 
My thoughts:

I think I would like to start with a damn, damn that I do not have book 2 ready. It was not like it ended with a cliffie, now, it was just that I need to freaking know!It is just the kind of fantasy I like. Quests, kingdoms, baddies and a great cast.

Our “heroes” are Royce, a thief and Hadrian, a mercenary. Together they form the band Riyria, and steal their way through life. The chemistry between these two is just great; you can feel that they have been friends for a very long time. They are also so funny together, one wanting one thing, the other one another thing, but they are friends and the trust each other (even if the other one has a stupid plan for instance.) That is truly what is good about this book Royce and Hadrian.

And once more, I just do not feel I can do it justice. It started off ok, then it got better, then it got even better, and I was hooked, and even though I was nowhere near the end I lamented the fact that I did not have book 2 ready (getting it for xmas). The books grabs hold of you and won’t let go. And you do not want it to let go either.

I could say a lot of things, of the banter between them, of the two quests they had, of Myron the monk they met, but I will just say that it had a solid plot. It was originally a 6 book series, and now it is a 3 book series. So this book is about 2 things, but they are connected since everything will lead up to one thing in the end. The world is looking for someone, and then we have an evil church too (they always make good baddies.)

Conclusion:
So yes just read it. I am SO glad Melissa got me to read this book because it was well worth it. My review may not amount to much since my mind is all “want book2!”. But in the end that is all you need to know, it made me want book 2, and I that book is as good as ordered already. I can’t wait to read more.

Cover:
Now this is my kind of hunk 😉

50 thoughts on “Review: Theft of Swords – Michael J.Sullivan

  1. Blodeuedd says:

    DianaHihi, you and me both 😉 Fantasy covers are my hunks, i would take him any day over a bare chested romance guyMelissa*bows down* I admit you are good, first Sprunk and now this. I shall listen…well try, cos I am a rebel that do not know what is good for me

  2. Blodeuedd says:

    MelissaI know, I almost hate giving recommendations in a way cos I feel so sad when people do not like the book 😦 But it's not you can know truly what others want.But sometimes it works wonderfully 😀

  3. Missie says:

    Gah! Waiting for book two is so hard when you loved book one so much or when you just want to know what is going to happen. That has happened to me a lot, so I feel your pain.

  4. Blodeuedd says:

    AnaHm…well if you do then you do not have to wait long since book 3 is out late January 😀 YAY!CherryI know, and silly me wished for it for xmas! Arghhh, if not then I would have had it already.MissieIt is the worst, but I can be brave, especially since I know I still hve to wait for book 3, arghhh waiting!FVI do love it 😉

  5. Melissa (Books and Things) says:

    ROFL… I was like… I did? I want to read it, but haven't yet… and then I realized you ment the wonderful Melissa of My World! Yes, she is the awesome person of fantasy. She has me wanting so many books…. AND now YOU are doing it to me in fantasy. *sigh* I will cave.

  6. Amy C says:

    You just recommended this book and now after reading your thoughts, I am going to look for this book, perhaps tomorrow or later today I'll take a drive to the bookstore 🙂

  7. Mel says:

    You've reminded me that I haven't read a traditional fantasy book for ages!! I've heard quite a few positive things about this series so I think I will add it to my wishlist for when my buying ban finishes!

  8. Blodeuedd says:

    Darlenefantasy books should be chunksters 😀 Then they make me even happier. The more the betterMelissaLol! Yes I should have put the rest there, and not confused the rest of you melissas out there ;)Yes yes yes, a person needs to read fantasy, it is good for the…brain ;)Amy CYAY 😀 It was very good, kind of old school, and I love old school. I felt right at home. One more yay for fantasyHawkI love fantasy covers, total hunks ;)MelAges?!?!?!!? You poor poor woman, you must be starving! I could not surive without proper fantasy, it feeds me

  9. Aarti says:

    Oh, I'm so glad you enjoyed this series! You don't have long to wait for the other two books, at least 🙂 I really enjoy Royce and Hadrian, too, though I have a *feeling* that I won't enjoy one of their romance stories once I get to the end of the series (so soon)!

  10. Blodeuedd says:

    Chris*waves*StephI do like my hunks, lol.Yes a double damn indeedYvonneI am glad to hear that :)ScienctistHihi, I sure hope so, hm, yes I do think I know which one of them I would choose as my book boyfriend. TotallyI hope you like it too.

  11. Blodeuedd says:

    SarahDunno if I have seen that add, there are so many, but yes to read it.StaciTotally hunky, fantasy covers are the best. I will take a hunk like this any day over those romance ones.MelissaGood to hear, and do try it out. It was so good, so, I just felt at home.AartiThat is a good thing, cos I hate to wait. But I can wait until after xmas cos I still have book 3 to wait for then and can't take it! Lol.Hm…ok when you mentioned it….I might have some ideas too

  12. Carole Rae says:

    I am loving the cover! Wow sounds like a pretty good book. =D BTW, thanks for having my blog be the 'Blog spotlight of the Week'. It makes me feel loved. *hugs*

  13. Carol says:

    Love that cover. Sounds great and I like that it's only 3 books, even if they are long. A trilogy seems to be about as long a series as I can stick with lately.

  14. Blodeuedd says:

    CaroleYou are welcome 😀 You got such a cute button too. He is just so hot ;)CarolI feel the same, a trilogy is perfect even if the books are long. I am not a 10 book girl (even if i love it)

Leave a Reply

