Review: Friday Night Bites – Chloe Neill

Series: Chicagoland Vampires #2
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 357
Published: 2010 (2009)
Publisher: Gollancz
Source: Library

The story of a young heiress’s initiation into the dark society of the Chicagoland Vampires continues…
Ten months after vampires revealed their existence to the mortals of Chicago, they’re enjoying a celebrity status usually reserved for the Hollywood elite. But if people learn about the Raves-mass feeding parties where vampires round up humans like cattle—the citizens will start sharpening their stakes.  So now it’s up to the new vampire Merit to reconnect with her upper class family and act as liaison between humans and bloodsuckers, and keep the more unsavory aspects of the vampire lifestyle out of the media. But someone doesn’t want peace between them—someone with an ancient grudge…

My thoughts:
I did like this book, but it did not grab me the same way as book 1 did. This one was easy to put down and first towards the end I got interested enough. That being said, I did like it as I said, just not as much as I wanted to considering book 1. 
Am I on team Ethan yet, no, not really. After being such an ass in book 1, come that scene where she walked in on him with Amber, not cool. Sure he seems really hot, but someone I would invest more in. I still think Morgan would be the guy to go for, sweet and nice. Oh Merit, you are not thinking with your brain. 
I am also wondering about super Merit, she does seem to be so much better than the rest. Sure he got her issues that we learn more about, but I guess I could want her a bit more normal. 
Action is promised as someone wants to do an expose on certain things the vampires to not want people to know about. There is blackmail and Merit re-joins the folds of the the rich and famous. Still something is missing for me, maybe the feeling I had in book one that there was always something going on, while this one was more relaxed. I do not know. I hope book 3 picks up again, I want more tension. I did not even feel enough tension between Ethan and Merit. 
Conclusion:
Still it was a good book, and I do want to read the next one.
Rating:
Nice
Cover:
Ok
26 thoughts on “Review: Friday Night Bites – Chloe Neill

  1. Mel says:

    I think I felt the same as you about this book. Something was missing for me – although that said I do have books three and four but not read them yet as I felt other books come first!

  2. Darlene says:

    Sorry this wasn't the greatest read for you. I get so frustrated by those books that I can easily put down but o still want to know what happens so I keep reading.

  3. Leontine says:

    I still have to start this series but the character dynamics sound very interesting. And tobe honest… I like the ocassion bad hero-ish character *cheeky grin*

  4. Anachronist says:

    I completely agree. I am surprised that you thought exactly like me. It doesn't happen often, does it? ;DEthan didn't persuade me till the bitter end (I read all parts available). His curtain-rod-in-the-ass attitude toward Merit and, in fact, all his vampires, made me gag from time to time.

  5. Blodeuedd says:

    MelI asked the library to get book 3 since I had them get the two previous ones 😉 So I cam wait since I have other books that I want to read moreDarleneI know, easy to put down but still there is something and that something makes me want to know what happens later onLeontineHihi, them I am pretty sure you are gonna like Ethan 😉 The girls sure fall for himAnaI know. I am in shock here! Lol. But yes it does not happen that often in the endI know, sure he is a hottie and has that bad boy/I am also an ass vibe going on. But I would not want him

  6. Blodeuedd says:

    CarrieIt happens :(ChrisThe first one was so good, and yes this one was good too. But like many other books it was not enough for me to take that second step which is buy the next oneYvonneDo try them cos in the end they are fun to readElysiumI asked them to get it 😉 If you can do that then do send them an email or fill something out.

  7. Aurian says:

    Another series I still have to start reading. I guess I'd better stop reading blogs, and start reading books 😉 at least my wishlist won't grow daily then …

  8. Blodeuedd says:

    BuckySo it gets better,…good to know. Cos, eh, I was just swept away by book 1, this one was still goodLynetteNope, he is just such an assNaidaI hope so to!Staci*fingers crossed*MelissaI do hope you are gonna read it cos it was still goodmelissa SwimBook two blues suck :(MissieI do not like bridges 😦 Ok now I have to stop complaing cos the book was good in the end

  9. Blodeuedd says:

    LisOh that EthanJulieYay, that is good to know- I hope the library gets itJennyIt was good enough, just not great. Do read it one day thoughAurianLOL! Same with me, I come across to many good booksmelissa booksI did do that 😉 So you just have to start the seriesDeannaI do hope you try it one dayStephhear hear!

Leave a Reply

