Review: Love Letters – Lori Brighton

Genre: Historical romance
Pages: Ebook, 99
Published: May 2011

The Art of Seduction
Clara Cameron will do anything to escape her impending marriage to the odious Lord Desmond, even if it means posing nude for artist Brendon Evans, the man she once loved. It’s been years since they’ve seen each other, but Clara’s love for Brendon hasn’t diminished. Will Brendon recognize Clara and admit his feelings for the woman before Lord Desmond comes calling, claiming Clara for his own?

Meant For Me

For years Cynthia Shaw has replied to Gabriel Baston’s letters, pretending to be his fiancΓ©, Cynthia’s wretched cousin Helen. When Gabriel appears at a masked ball and mistakes Cynthia for Helen, she can’t help herself and gives her innocence to the man she has loved for years. Will Lord Kennwick realize Cynthia was meant for him before it’s too late?
My thoughts:
I am not the best at reviewing novellas, you can’t say too much and you must say something. They are sure tricky to review.

The Art of Seduction is the first story and it’s about that first love you had  that never came to be. Clara was always in love with Brendon but he was older and never noticed her. And now she is on the run and she wants to see him again.

I liked Clara, she was innocent, but she still wanted something. Brendon was a bit broken and needed to be healed. And since this is a short story everything happens fast and it works. They meet and at the end they have their HEA. Since this is a  romance after all. There is also danger and passion.

Meant For Me was my favourite out of these two. It’s about Cynthia who is mistreated by her aunt. They do not really care for her and she is the grey wallflower. But in fact she is full of life and she doesn’t want her cousin to marry Lord Kennwick. She knows him, he knows her..but not really since he thinks he has been writing her cousin. Of course at one point I did think he should have thought of it sooner but hey we need some drama in this short story. It was a cute Cinderella story and just like story number 1 it had passion too.
Conclusion:
Two short and passionate tales about love found.
Cover:
It does look cool.
Source. Author

————–

And cos I am lazy. The winners of Wickedly Charming and Awaken the Highland warrior have been notified, and the name of the winners are in the original post


31 thoughts on “Review: Love Letters – Lori Brighton

  1. Jenny says:

    I always have a hard time reviewing novellas as well, just like you said it's hard to say enough without saying too much. These sound like two fabulous stories though and I'm a big fan of Lori Brighton:)

  2. Misha says:

    The cover is pretty!Meant For Me sounds more interesting to me too. I have read and enjoyed the author's previous book , so will be looking forward to this one.

  3. Blodeuedd says:

    @JennySo hard, they are so short that if I spill all then there is nothing left. And so hard to review since not much happens in the end.@ChrisGlad you liked it ;)@MishaIt was the best one. I do like a Cinderella type story. And she was so deserving

  4. Blodeuedd says:

    @NaidaSo very hard, but I gave it my best shot :D@hawkAwww, thanks! You are too kind@DianaOh yes, she is gonna be nude, and I can't say more, well HEA lol

  5. Blodeuedd says:

    @MelissaThanks πŸ˜€ I am always worried that nothing comes to light in my novella reviews@LadybugAnd that was 99 pages with two different stories in it. So hard@caroleIt's so simple and yet so pretty

  6. Blodeuedd says:

    Thanks Staci :D@JennyThe good thing is sure that they are quick, but yet mostly they leave you wanting more@MelissaExactly, I just never have enough things to say about them

  7. Blodeuedd says:

    @AmusedNever? o_O Not even a little tiny one?@VivienneThis one was perfect for me when I just has finished a 700 page long book@SusiThanks πŸ˜€

  8. paperbackdaydreamer.com says:

    These sound like wonderful novellas. I also have trouble reviewing a novella for fear of giving away the entire story. I might have to check these out for a fun, fast read. I also like the cover on this one.

Leave a Reply

